Posted by: thebylog | August 10, 2005

Beachy Amish

I met Cory Anderson back at the FaithBuilders retreat for College Students. Totally funny guy, very engaging and smart and opinionated.

Funny thing #1: He’s a Beachy, but he was the editor of the Eastern Mennonite University student newspaper for a semester. Beachy’s being very strict and EMU being very liberal. Sparks flew, it sounded like.

Funny thing #2: One of the papers he’s written is called Birth Rates, Contraception Usage, and Demographic Data Relating to the Beachy Amish Mennonite Churches.

His website is The Beachy Amish-Mennonite Churches.

Responses

  1. Hey, I think I met him back at the CLP Writers Conference in March.

  2. Lol! Cory is quite the character! I met him at Faith Mission Church. He was absolutely convinced, and quite vocal about it, that he was the smartest Mennonite east of the Blue Ridge. Some of my friends from FM were convinced that it was me who was smarter. (It was them, NOT I, who was convinced of this fact.)

    He insisted on a debate. (I was less than enthusiastic throughout the whole procedure.) We started off with who knew the biggest word. He rattled off the spelling of some 15 letter word. I responded with pneumaltramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconios. I think he was a bit stunned, but he recovered quickly in standard Cory fashion: “Do you know how to spell it? Do you even know what that means? If you know a big word, it doesn’t matter if you don’t know what it means. Besides, word size isn’t the only measure of smartness.” I spelled it and explained to him that it was a lung cancer contracted by miners and is caused by subterranean gases.

    We had a wide ranging debate on a whole variety of topics, he probing my knowledge at every turn. We had an audience of half the boys in church as they eagerly watched the back and forth.

    I got the feeling they were cheering for me, because they laughed each time I won on a point. I think they were happy to see someone take him on.

    A couple of times he claimed victory saying that “I guess you’re not so smart after all,” to which I would respond, “That’s fine with me. It’s not *my* hypothesis that I’m smarter.”

    Anyway… Hysterical guy…

  3. Ha ha! That’s hilarious! I would’ve loved to see that.

  4. Hans, the word is “pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis” if I have it right. I taught that word to ITF when he was a kid; he likes that word, too. Silica dust figures into the defined ailment, too, I believe.

    EG

  5. EG: Oh NO! I missed an “on”!

    Oh well… Cory didn’t know the difference.

  6. wow, the papers he had on his website were even wilder than i expected. never saw such scientific analysis of the beachy folks before. yay for educated plain people.

  7. Very interesting. I wonder where he came up with all that stuff??? And he must be a pretty plain Beachy, because most of us have dropped the ‘Amish’ from the name, plus some other things he said which make me think that. Also the pictures on there!!! But it was interesting!!!
    Lauren

  8. Anyone want to know that my church was the original Beachy church and “Mose” Beachy was my great, great grandfather?

    Ag

  9. WOW! this guy is sure into this beachy-amish mennonite stuff. he must be a Euegene Meltzner (like in Adventures in Oddysey) whew! reading stuff like that too much would put me to sleep! in fact I..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……..HUH?…uh… oh sorry bout that. told ya :S

  10. I met cory and found him offensive and he had a degrading personality.

  11. and annoying

  12. strange!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

