Posted by: thebylog | April 22, 2004

One thing about the ACE curriculum, it can be taken advantage of. And I did, when I was a young schoolboy.

Let’s say you were studying about early American history. The method ACE uses is several paragraphs of text followed by some activities, such as fill-in-the-blanks. I was all about speed back then. It was a race to see just how quickly I could get my work done every day.

So what I would do is look at the fill-in-the-blank questions and find a key word or two, then blindly skim the text looking only for the key word.

It wasn’t until I was older that I mentioned my method to a teacher who told me to start reading all of the text!

Well, I’ve come full circle. Today as I was studying for my History midterm (which went pretty well, by the way), and I was reduced to skimming for keywords, in this case names of key people in the history of anti-Semitism.

Leave a Reply

Categories

