Posted by: thebylog | May 19, 2004

I was quite the Yearbooker in my day. Yep, I cut and pasted and wrote badly constructed articles with the best of them.

One of the challengers to a yearbook staffer is extracting teachers’ messages from the teachers, and I’m no exception, now that I’ve had a chance to forget about getting a teacher’s message to the yearbook committee by their initial deadline.

One routine school morning, in perhaps my ninth year of education, I discovered a note on my desk. This note was from one of my teachers–my Aunt Barb (“Miss”) to be precise. It challenged me to have more faith, using George Muller as an example.

I sort of wondered what brought that on, was it something I’d done that she thought I needed to think about exercising more faith muscle? I thought about it briefly, then went on with my life.

A while later I asked Miss about her teacher’s message, and she told me she’d already given it to me. That was news to me, but then I thought about it. Oh…was that your teacher’s message?

What did you think it was, she wondered. I don’t know, I didn’t think it through, I just figured it was something for me. If I remember right, I couldn’t even find the “note” she had put on my desk.

That seems to happen to me every once in awhile. Something will happen, I’ll think about it briefly, but un-thoroughly, and then I’ll be asked about it later. What do you have to say for yourself? Well, nothing. I just didn’t think it through.

Responses

  1. I don’t remember that happening, but I found the account of it rather humorous–me exhorting you to have more faith, huh.

  2. I don’t remember that happening, but I found the account of it rather humorous–me exhorting you to have more faith, huh.

  3. Makes me chuckle as well.

  4. Makes me chuckle as well.

  5. Ha ha!! That is funny.

    Tom

  6. Ha ha!! That is funny.

    Tom


Leave a Reply

Categories

