Posted by: thebylog | May 31, 2004

Back when I was at Bible School in 2003, I got into the habit of journalling. A real good thing, very positive. But, I’ve gotten out of the habit of it. Time is probably the biggest culprit, laziness too I suppose.

Yesterday I made an entry into my journal.

School this term has numbed me, spiritually, I think. It’s created an environment that has not made it easy to spend quality time with God. A lack of time spent with God will just leave you dry and empty.

I know,

Life can take you up and it can bring you down;

Priotities ideals can get so turned around.

‘Til all that’s left is just a shell.

But you say,

That you require more of me than empty talk;

It’s a life you want to guide me through my daily walk.

It’s rewarding more than I could ever tell.

In all that I say,

In all that I do,

This is my purpose,

To live a life that’s pleasing to you.

Here’s some from that journal entry:

“It hit me tonight as I was looking at the Sunday School lesson: something’s missing. It’s like this term at school has numbed me. I thought back to the song we sang at Bible School “There’s a Stirring” … The passion, the excitement that I felt for heaven. Where is that now? When’s the last time I longed for…anything. It seems like whatever spirituality I’ve had lately has been rather manufactured. I’m still doing what I’ve been doing, but anything emotional has had almost to be made up.

Something’s missing, something’s wrong.

I was also trying to remember that C.S. Lewis quote that goes something like: “If I find in myself a desire that nothing in the world can fulfill, the only conclusion I can reach is that I was made for another world.” That truth doesn’t really sink in until you really do feel something missing, which I do.”

I had some quality time with God last night.

Responses

  1. My heart says, “Amen.” 🙂

    Merry

  2. My heart says, “Amen.” 🙂

    Merry


Leave a Reply

Categories

