Posted by: thebylog | June 7, 2004

Can I run through the wall if I believe in my heart?

Can I finish the race before I even start?

Can I walk on the water if I just do my part?

Can I do great things like you said?

Something, I’m not even sure what, prompted me to start writing this in church this morning.

Even this tiny little ditty, to show how much things can morph in a small amount of time, I’ll write exactly what I originally wrote on the back of the bulletin.

Can I run through the wall if I believe in my heart?

Can I walk on the water if I trust hard enough?

Can I finish the race before I even start?

Can I do the great things, perform well enough?

I’ve got a lot, a lot of songs that are started, good ideas, but unfinished. I’ve been out of songwriting mode for awhile, ever since Tom moved away and took with him his demo-recording expertise.

Anyway, here’s another unfinished one that would be cool to finish, except I’m sort of stuck. I need a good ending to it, but none has really presented itself. It’s called, “Bread for a Vegan.”

I’m walking, I’m thinking I’m hungry

I want something to eat.

I see the grocer on the corner

He’s advertising meat.

Looks great but I am a vegan

Protein’s evil to me

But instead of patties making me fatty

It’s bread I want to see.

Inside it’s really depressing.

Killing’s everywhere.

Fish is that way, special mutton on Friday,

All I could do is stare.

Finally, way back in the corner

A tiny section for bread.

I rush on over, thinking 4 leaf clover

I’m nearly out of my head

They’ve got one kind only

It’s looking very good

But when I look closer, I discover

The bread is soaked in blood

He’s crazy you may be thinking

The veggies got to him…

I need a way to link bread with meat. Like he buys his bread and is enraptured, until he takes a bite and finds out that there is some animal oil or…or, something that freaks him out.

Responses

  1. I connect with the first one, but when I came to the second one, I’m like, “Why?!” 🙂

    BTW, Congrats on the scholarship. God bless you above what you could ask or think, and don’t forget your artsy side. 🙂

    Merry

  2. I connect with the first one, but when I came to the second one, I’m like, “Why?!” 🙂

    BTW, Congrats on the scholarship. God bless you above what you could ask or think, and don’t forget your artsy side. 🙂

    Merry

  3. Hi Again,

    I started reading this blog and dude, I was totally connecting, totally drinking it all in, totally deep in thought. Until, suddenly………I’m thinking simple thoughts like, “hello”, and “I don’t get it”.

    Unless AHQ is planning on turning into TMC, The Meatless Chompers, I would say your song is um, well, probably not worth squirting your creative juices on.

    But, I couldn’t help drumming up a juicy, meaty tune……

    Woke up this morning thinking of meat
    Just a juicy bite or two
    Couldn’t get the craving out of my mind
    No matter what I’d do
    Decided deprivation was crazy
    And headed to the fridge
    I stood there in horror at what I saw
    For all that was there was a midge

    I long for…

    Hot dogs and meatballs
    Lamb chops and steak
    Fish sticks and tuna
    Brother make no mistake

    I’ll eat the….

    Burgers and chicken
    Snails and roast
    If I can’t have any
    I’d rather have a midge than toast

    Okay, it’s lame unless you hear my really catchy battle-rally tune that goes with it…….:)

    For all the meat lovers,

    Ag

  4. Hi Again,

    I started reading this blog and dude, I was totally connecting, totally drinking it all in, totally deep in thought. Until, suddenly………I’m thinking simple thoughts like, “hello”, and “I don’t get it”.

    Unless AHQ is planning on turning into TMC, The Meatless Chompers, I would say your song is um, well, probably not worth squirting your creative juices on.

    But, I couldn’t help drumming up a juicy, meaty tune……

    Woke up this morning thinking of meat
    Just a juicy bite or two
    Couldn’t get the craving out of my mind
    No matter what I’d do
    Decided deprivation was crazy
    And headed to the fridge
    I stood there in horror at what I saw
    For all that was there was a midge

    I long for…

    Hot dogs and meatballs
    Lamb chops and steak
    Fish sticks and tuna
    Brother make no mistake

    I’ll eat the….

    Burgers and chicken
    Snails and roast
    If I can’t have any
    I’d rather have a midge than toast

    Okay, it’s lame unless you hear my really catchy battle-rally tune that goes with it…….:)

    For all the meat lovers,

    Ag

  5. Hi Again,

    I started reading this blog and dude, I was totally connecting, totally drinking it all in, totally deep in thought. Until, suddenly………I’m thinking simple thoughts like, “hello”, and “I don’t get it”.

    Unless AHQ is planning on turning into TMC, The Meatless Chompers, I would say your song is um, well, probably not worth squirting your creative juices on.

    But, I couldn’t help drumming up a juicy, meaty tune……

    Woke up this morning thinking of meat
    Just a juicy bite or two
    Couldn’t get the craving out of my mind
    No matter what I’d do
    Decided deprivation was crazy
    And headed to the fridge
    I stood there in horror at what I saw
    For all that was there was a midge

    I long for…

    Hot dogs and meatballs
    Lamb chops and steak
    Fish sticks and tuna
    Brother make no mistake

    I’ll eat the….

    Burgers and chicken
    Snails and roast
    If I can’t have any
    I’d rather have a midge than toast

    Okay, it’s lame unless you hear my really catchy battle-rally tune that goes with it…….:)

    For all the meat lovers,

    Ag

  6. Hi Again,

    I started reading this blog and dude, I was totally connecting, totally drinking it all in, totally deep in thought. Until, suddenly………I’m thinking simple thoughts like, “hello”, and “I don’t get it”.

    Unless AHQ is planning on turning into TMC, The Meatless Chompers, I would say your song is um, well, probably not worth squirting your creative juices on.

    But, I couldn’t help drumming up a juicy, meaty tune……

    Woke up this morning thinking of meat
    Just a juicy bite or two
    Couldn’t get the craving out of my mind
    No matter what I’d do
    Decided deprivation was crazy
    And headed to the fridge
    I stood there in horror at what I saw
    For all that was there was a midge

    I long for…

    Hot dogs and meatballs
    Lamb chops and steak
    Fish sticks and tuna
    Brother make no mistake

    I’ll eat the….

    Burgers and chicken
    Snails and roast
    If I can’t have any
    I’d rather have a midge than toast

    Okay, it’s lame unless you hear my really catchy battle-rally tune that goes with it…….:)

    For all the meat lovers,

    Ag

  7. Hey, you’re good, Ag. That’s cute.

    Crystal

  8. Hey, you’re good, Ag. That’s cute.

    Crystal

  9. I think you’re really on to something here By. Sorry it’s taken me so long to comment, but it takes me a while when I need to think. Doesn’t come very naturally, you know.

    By the way, did you notice my railings on fair weather friends brought some people back out of the woodwork?!

    This vegan thing has real promise. You’re right about needing a good ending though. It’s like a good joke that’s funny as you tell it, but needs a good punch line.

    I like the internals you threw in line 3.

    Stanza 5 is where things start to fall apart. The rhyme makes me fondly recall the smirks we used to throw at each other during church when a hymn would have some ridiculous archaic sight rhyme! The blood thing really doesn’t work, why in the world would bread be soaked in blood? It has to be somewhat plausible. That’s kind of stomach-churning. Yeah, you just need a good way to connect the bread with meat. I’ll be thinking.

    Speaking of poems and food, I’m currently working on a wonderful poem about eggs.

    By the way Ag, no one loves meat more than me, but this is wonderful satire!

    Tom

  10. I think you’re really on to something here By. Sorry it’s taken me so long to comment, but it takes me a while when I need to think. Doesn’t come very naturally, you know.

    By the way, did you notice my railings on fair weather friends brought some people back out of the woodwork?!

    This vegan thing has real promise. You’re right about needing a good ending though. It’s like a good joke that’s funny as you tell it, but needs a good punch line.

    I like the internals you threw in line 3.

    Stanza 5 is where things start to fall apart. The rhyme makes me fondly recall the smirks we used to throw at each other during church when a hymn would have some ridiculous archaic sight rhyme! The blood thing really doesn’t work, why in the world would bread be soaked in blood? It has to be somewhat plausible. That’s kind of stomach-churning. Yeah, you just need a good way to connect the bread with meat. I’ll be thinking.

    Speaking of poems and food, I’m currently working on a wonderful poem about eggs.

    By the way Ag, no one loves meat more than me, but this is wonderful satire!

    Tom

  11. All right, Tom, I was going to let this go for now because I have a dinner date at Los Dos with your sister, her husband, Randy, and Karen Keller!

    But I had to enlighten you on my “blood” line. It’s not literally “soaked in blood”, but it’s “bloody” because it has some connection with meat. Now, that may not be the ending I was looking for, but if it is, the “bloody” line is very plausible.

  12. All right, Tom, I was going to let this go for now because I have a dinner date at Los Dos with your sister, her husband, Randy, and Karen Keller!

    But I had to enlighten you on my “blood” line. It’s not literally “soaked in blood”, but it’s “bloody” because it has some connection with meat. Now, that may not be the ending I was looking for, but if it is, the “bloody” line is very plausible.

  13. Yeah, I know. I called my sister on her cell and here she is at the restaurant with my buds. Made me lonely.

  14. Yeah, I know. I called my sister on her cell and here she is at the restaurant with my buds. Made me lonely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

