Posted by: thebylog | June 12, 2004

So there’s this documentary out called Super Size Me. It sounds like Michael Moore’s “Bowling For Columbine” except instead of bashing gun manufacturers it bashes fast food corporations.

The premise is that this guy eats nowhere except McDonalds for 30 days straight. He ends up gaining 25 pounds and 18% body fat.

Here–as in “Bowling For Columbine”–very convincing cases can be made. For instance, evidently this movie drives home how much fast food companies target children. And when you combine that with the supposedly “habit-forming” activity that is fast-food consumption, you can come to some pretty sinister conclusions.

But the problem is that to self-regulate based on non-illegal ethics is inherently counter-capitalist! Really, capitalism is based on the premise of selfishness, correct me if I’m wrong. There’s a lot of good things about it, and I don’t think economic systems should be particularly bounded by the same set of ethics that Christians are, but boy, it’s like we’re expecting or hoping that the people with the power, namely the leaders of culture-shaping corporations, will say, hey, I’m going to eschew making tons of money for my company and myself, and instead make sure that my product is socially-responsible in every way.

Most of these decision-makers aren’t saved! JOY, Jesus, Others, Yourself. But what if you’re living by YOJ? Or just YYY? Then what are you going to do? Be more concerned for the welfare of someone else? Or try to line your pockets with more dough?

Responses

  1. Have you seen “Bowling?” Do you know first hand the “very convincing” case it makes? I have some serious doubts.

    Your unique idealogical mix of conservative Christian and extreme political liberalism make for some interesting commentary.

    Tom

  2. Hmm, I think there are some really terrific points in there….somewhere….amongst the jarbon and jibberish. I’m not knockin’ ya, I just think I’m too under-educated for the likes of the aspiring, philosophical posts of the by-log.:)

  3. Aw, Shelley, it just means you have to stare at it harder and think longer! You’re not under-educated at all, just educated in different ways. It’s like a farmer, is he uneducated? No! He’s not formally educated, but that doesn’t mean much.

  4. Tom, I have seen “Bowling” and it does make excellent points. I say that well-knowing of the fact of that filmmakers bias and slant as he made the movie. Things often seem particularly convincing when you’ve only heard one side. But even as I realize that, I realize that he made some good arguments.

  5. By by by by by by by. I haven’t seen that piece of biased celluloid trash by one of the most out-of-whack liberals that exist, but I can say a few things. I know what liberals say about guns, and I know roughly what you know about guns, and I don’t think I can unreservedly accept what you say about it!

    Tom

  6. Tom, like you said, you haven’t seen it. Of course it’s biased, I wouldn’t say otherwise. But sometimes despite biases, good arguments are made.


Leave a Reply

Categories

