Posted by: thebylog | July 18, 2004

So if you take this wonderful song:

 

I just wanna be with you.

Just want this waiting to be over.

I just wanna be with you,

And it helps to know the day is getting closer.

Every minute takes an hour,

Every inch feels like a mile.

‘Til I won’t have to imagine

And I’ll finally get to see you smile!

 

If you take it just based on the chorus, it sounds as much like a guy yearning for his woman as a person yearning to see God.  But that’s great, the double meaning.  Because marriage is a dim foreshadowing of the greatest marriage.  You know, it’s like we’re in a long-distance courtship with Christ right now.  We have a relationship with Him, but it’s not complete, it’s not face to face.  Not until heaven. 

 

When I think about the intense feelings that I’ve seen in others and can imagine for myself, it helps me get ahold of the wonder that our life–errr…engagement–with Christ is.

 

The post a few days ago, about roses and stars and the moon, that was inspired by a song, “Love Goes On” by David Phelps.  Just wanted to throw that in, giving credit where credit is due.

 

I went to a baseball game tonight with bro Randy, cuz Amanda, and friend Trevor.  When we were walking out, there were dudes giving away free Carl’s Junior Burger coupons.  We all took one of course, but Randy saw the opportunity for a cheap date at some point (August 30, Shelley’s birthday!) so he loops around and tries to act all nonchalant and blend into the crowd as someone who had just come out of the gates.  He succeeded, ’cause the guy gave him another coupon.  I laughed because I thought it was funny.

Responses

  1. I don’t know, By. You just took one of the main arguments for the anti-CCM crowd and twisted it around and used it in arguing for CCM!! Can you do that, is it legal?? Tricky!

    I’ve said this many times, but you younger generation peoples don’t appreciate what my generation went through for you when we were your age. You came along and suddenly CCM was no big deal. It came at a price! You owe us!

    Tom

  2. I don’t know, By. You just took one of the main arguments for the anti-CCM crowd and twisted it around and used it in arguing for CCM!! Can you do that, is it legal?? Tricky!

    I’ve said this many times, but you younger generation peoples don’t appreciate what my generation went through for you when we were your age. You came along and suddenly CCM was no big deal. It came at a price! You owe us!

    Tom

  3. I’m not quite sure about that whole marriage deal…with Christ, yeah, with a guy??? Nothing personal but I classify them pretty much the same, and I will not define that here. I happened across your link this morning and read your comments about marriage….I’ve not seen too many marriages that I would even hope are a foreshadow of the marriage to come. Seems we have atrociously destroyed the picture that it was intended to be. And I know both sides have their responsibilities and you’ll scream, but I place most of the responsibility on men. God has commanded them to be leaders and they bask in complacency rather than stepping out and leading with a strong heart. Now I don’t know you, so maybe you are an exception to the rule and I commend you if you are yet I’m doubtful………forgive my lack of faith…and by the way….and lest you hate me forever I will sign off and simply challenge you to be the man that God has intended you to be. Not desperate for a woman. Not panting for a wife. But basking in the marriage with God that you have.

  4. I’m not quite sure about that whole marriage deal…with Christ, yeah, with a guy??? Nothing personal but I classify them pretty much the same, and I will not define that here. I happened across your link this morning and read your comments about marriage….I’ve not seen too many marriages that I would even hope are a foreshadow of the marriage to come. Seems we have atrociously destroyed the picture that it was intended to be. And I know both sides have their responsibilities and you’ll scream, but I place most of the responsibility on men. God has commanded them to be leaders and they bask in complacency rather than stepping out and leading with a strong heart. Now I don’t know you, so maybe you are an exception to the rule and I commend you if you are yet I’m doubtful………forgive my lack of faith…and by the way….and lest you hate me forever I will sign off and simply challenge you to be the man that God has intended you to be. Not desperate for a woman. Not panting for a wife. But basking in the marriage with God that you have.

  5. By never screams. I, however, do! I’m not going to now though. By is definitely an exception to your “rule” and has already met your challenges.

    My witty first post notwithstanding, I think he hit the nail on the head with his analogy.

    Tom

  6. By never screams. I, however, do! I’m not going to now though. By is definitely an exception to your “rule” and has already met your challenges.

    My witty first post notwithstanding, I think he hit the nail on the head with his analogy.

    Tom

  7. I need to be convinced.

  8. I need to be convinced.

  9. Of what? I’m not sure what you’re referring to.

    Tom

  10. Of what? I’m not sure what you’re referring to.

    Tom

  11. You go ahead and scream Tom. I was just reading in 1 Cor. this morning where it says, “If you love someone you will be loyal to him no matter what the cost. You will always believe in him, always expect the best of him, and always stand your ground in defending him.”

    Anon, I think you are being a bit harsh! There is some truth to what you are saying, I understand that. The sad truth is that there ARE alot of men riding on the bed of complacency, and because of that, women have to kill themselves picking up the slack. I see that far too often, and it does bother me! But something else that I see that bothers me is when I see, or hear, women standing over men with a stick constantly bashing them for their lack of leadership, their lack of vision, their lack OF.

    True, alot of men need to pick up the torch, but alot of women need to lay down the stick.

    Ag

  12. You go ahead and scream Tom. I was just reading in 1 Cor. this morning where it says, “If you love someone you will be loyal to him no matter what the cost. You will always believe in him, always expect the best of him, and always stand your ground in defending him.”

    Anon, I think you are being a bit harsh! There is some truth to what you are saying, I understand that. The sad truth is that there ARE alot of men riding on the bed of complacency, and because of that, women have to kill themselves picking up the slack. I see that far too often, and it does bother me! But something else that I see that bothers me is when I see, or hear, women standing over men with a stick constantly bashing them for their lack of leadership, their lack of vision, their lack OF.

    True, alot of men need to pick up the torch, but alot of women need to lay down the stick.

    Ag

  13. Byran, I love what you shared. You already know where I stand on all of this. I’m excited about what I see God working out in your life.

    Anon, I am truly grieved that you are so familiar with wounds of this nature. I pray that God’s grace and His care for your heart will take you on a journey that will renew your hope, not a hope in what the human heart can be but a hope in how God can fill and rebirth the human heart.

    Ag, I like your loyalty. Make certain it is well-placed.

    Tom, I salute you — Risk-taker, Passionate Warrior, etc.

    May we all seek God with ALL our heart,
    Merry

  14. Hurrah for Merry! Don’t we love her.

    Crystal

  15. Hurrah for Merry! Don’t we love her.

    Crystal

  16. There’s a book of Elizabeth Elliot’s that addresses this very problem. With Elizabeth’s wise insite, of course. I’ll have to dig it out.

  17. There’s a book of Elizabeth Elliot’s that addresses this very problem. With Elizabeth’s wise insite, of course. I’ll have to dig it out.

  18. Darin, the title of Elliot’s book, please?

    thanks
    Merry

  19. I’m sorry. I should have said there’s a chapter in a book of Elizabeth Elliot’s…. I think the title is Mark of a Man. I think that’s the one. I’ll dig it out tonight.

  20. Yes, Crystal, we all love Merry!

  21. But the rest of us leave alot to be desired.

  22. But the rest of us leave alot to be desired.

  23. Remember, mates, we are not hoping in the goodness of the human heart but it what God can do in the human heart, even our own. Learn not so much to “do” but to “be.”

    Thanks, Darin, for the info…. I’m off to the bookstore. 🙂

    Thanks to all of you for allowing God to affirm my heart thru you.

    I love you guys!
    Merry

  24. Remember, mates, we are not hoping in the goodness of the human heart but it what God can do in the human heart, even our own. Learn not so much to “do” but to “be.”

    Thanks, Darin, for the info…. I’m off to the bookstore. 🙂

    Thanks to all of you for allowing God to affirm my heart thru you.

    I love you guys!
    Merry

  25. What is that Merry, about 30 feet for you to the bookstore?!

    Tom

  26. What is that Merry, about 30 feet for you to the bookstore?!

    Tom

  27. Approximately Tom. 🙂 Aren’t I lucky!

    Merry

  28. Approximately Tom. 🙂 Aren’t I lucky!

    Merry

  29. For starters, let me appologize profusely. I was mistaken. The book is Boy Meets Girl, and is not written by Elizbeth Elliot: nay, not even a woman, but Josh Harris. The chapter is no. 7, entitled “I Boys Would Be Men, Would Girls Be Ladies?” I do believe that this subject is also talked about in three of Elliot’s books, Mark of a Man, Passion and Purity, and Let Me Be a Woman. But what I was thinking of was this book.

    To quote Harris verbatim, “if a man’s biggest temptation is to be passive, a woman’s biggest temptation is to take control.” It looks as though those two temptations have the oportunity to take a marriage into the dirt in little time if not checked. It’s sad.

  30. For starters, let me appologize profusely. I was mistaken. The book is Boy Meets Girl, and is not written by Elizbeth Elliot: nay, not even a woman, but Josh Harris. The chapter is no. 7, entitled “I Boys Would Be Men, Would Girls Be Ladies?” I do believe that this subject is also talked about in three of Elliot’s books, Mark of a Man, Passion and Purity, and Let Me Be a Woman. But what I was thinking of was this book.

    To quote Harris verbatim, “if a man’s biggest temptation is to be passive, a woman’s biggest temptation is to take control.” It looks as though those two temptations have the oportunity to take a marriage into the dirt in little time if not checked. It’s sad.

  31. Many thanks for the clarification, Darin.

    Merry

  32. Many thanks for the clarification, Darin.

    Merry


Leave a Reply

Categories

