Posted by: thebylog | July 27, 2004

(Non-Magnificent) Obsession

I like to tell people that becoming annoyed at a non-physical irritant is simply a choice a person makes.  Which is why it’s sort of ironic that I get so bothered about certain things.

For instance, I have this thing about having the radio on when I’m trying to go to sleep.  It’s certainly in my head, but I have, in the past, had a difficult time drifting off if there is noise that demands my attention.  The reason this is an issue is because bro is all about having the radio on as he drifts off to sleep.  Furthermore, it tends to stay on throughout the entire night, because no one is awake to turn it off.

The last two nights he’s turned it on “real quiet.”  Hmmph!  You know how a radio being “real quiet” is!  It’s real quiet until everything else is real quiet, then it’s not real quiet at all, but very intelligible.

But I guess I’ve overcome it, let go, something, because I’ve gotten to sleep the last few nights.

And another thing I’m currently fighting obsessive tendencies toward is “the open door.”  See, when the bedroom door is ajar warm air rushes up, so to preserve coolness you have to keep the door shut.

So let’s say I’m sleeping and Randy needs to come up to his closet to retrieve something.  As soon as he starts up the stairs I, of course, have awakened and immediately start thinking about whether he’ll leave the door open.   He comes in, turns the light on, and leaves the door open.  When he does, I croak, and he assures me that it’ll only be a minute ’til he goes down again.  A minute’s way too long for me, because I can feel it getting hot already (I’ve begun to sweat), so I stumble out of bed to shut the door.

And of course, if someone is preparing to leave the room as I lay in bed half-awake, I must remind them to shut the door all the way.

Responses

  1. I can’t quit giggling. By, I can SOOO relate. At least, that’s how I used to be. I think I kinda outgrew it. So hang on; maybe you will, too.

    Merry

  2. I know your brother By. I’d tell him to shove it!

    Well, actually that’s not what I’d tell him, but that’s probably the most appropriate approximation of what I’d tell him that you’d allow me to post in a comment!

    Tom

  3. hahaha. I would have to say that I have strange pre-sleeping tendencies as well. I like music played until RIGHT before I get to the sleeping point, than I quickly turn off the radio. I don’t like to fall asleep to it playing. I like the door shut, the AC on, the fan blowing, and occasionally, the window open. *shhh* don’t tell my Dad.:)

  4. hahaha. I would have to say that I have strange pre-sleeping tendencies as well. I like music played until RIGHT before I get to the sleeping point, than I quickly turn off the radio. I don’t like to fall asleep to it playing. I like the door shut, the AC on, the fan blowing, and occasionally, the window open. *shhh* don’t tell my Dad.:)

  5. by, this is your funniest post to date. i laughed. i don’t usually laugh at your posts. i will say you’ve been doing better, man about letting me have my radio on. hey tom, why would he tell me to shove it? by’s a reasonable individual that believes in give and take and since the room does happen to be both of ours it is only logical. so shove that!! ask by where to shove it…he’ll tell ya…anyway tom i haven’t seen you in a long time. we need to get to together and see some movies. there are a couple that you need to see. i miss you man…tear tear

  6. by, this is your funniest post to date. i laughed. i don’t usually laugh at your posts. i will say you’ve been doing better, man about letting me have my radio on. hey tom, why would he tell me to shove it? by’s a reasonable individual that believes in give and take and since the room does happen to be both of ours it is only logical. so shove that!! ask by where to shove it…he’ll tell ya…anyway tom i haven’t seen you in a long time. we need to get to together and see some movies. there are a couple that you need to see. i miss you man…tear tear

  7. i forgot to sign my name.
    rande

  8. i forgot to sign my name.
    rande

  9. Tom wishes you missed him. Don’t tell me I’ve rubbed off on you and now you miss your manly ‘bonding’ times….

  10. By, you belong in the family. I can’t go to sleep to music either. I don’t think I’d be as longsuffering as you are, though. I wouldn’t say anything rude like others have suggested, I would just either remove the radio from the room until the brother has seen reason or find something equally annoying to do to him until he would voluntarily cease playing music as he’s drifting off.

    Rosie!

  11. Rosie, Tom, you’re so mean!

    I’m down with Eldredge and Wild at Heart, but I don’t think this is something to shed the “niceness” about.

  12. I hear you…. selfishness and noble strength do look quite different from each other. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Merry

  13. I hear you…. selfishness and noble strength do look quite different from each other. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Merry

  14. No, you’re just nice beyond all reason, we’re not mean at all. If anybody’s being mean, it’s Ran! He knows you’ll let him walk all over you and so he does. I probably would too if I was him!

    Tom

  15. No, you’re just nice beyond all reason, we’re not mean at all. If anybody’s being mean, it’s Ran! He knows you’ll let him walk all over you and so he does. I probably would too if I was him!

    Tom

  16. Tom, I think that’s what happens when little brothers have big brothers who happen to be the kind, compassionate and so forth. We, as little brothers, find that as an open opportunity to walk all over them and do it, I’m afraid. I know my brother, Jeff, put up with a lot of things most ordinary brothers wouldn’t have.

  17. Tom, I think that’s what happens when little brothers have big brothers who happen to be the kind, compassionate and so forth. We, as little brothers, find that as an open opportunity to walk all over them and do it, I’m afraid. I know my brother, Jeff, put up with a lot of things most ordinary brothers wouldn’t have.

  18. Why doesn’t Randy just use headphones or earplugs? That’s what I used to do in my young years when I liked to drift off to music. FYI, now that I am mature, I want silence for drifting off. Miss

  19. Good point Miss. I don’t know. The radio’s across the room.

  20. Good point Miss. I don’t know. The radio’s across the room.

  21. actually i think earplugs are a splendid idea…for by. i can listen and he can wear the plugs and everyone is happy. i just don’t get it. by is always harping on me about things only being annoying if you let them be. for some reason it’s different in this case. i think he’s a bit selective.
    rande


Leave a Reply

Categories

