Posted by: thebylog | July 30, 2004

Achh…

So much to learn; so far to go.  But sometimes I wonder, though, if a more radical approach is necessary.  Am I really making progress?  Maybe I need to totally rethink how I come at this thing called “living the Christian life” or “being a witness.”  Maybe I need to have a renaissance of sorts, a paradigm shift, a completely different perspective on being a Christian in my world.

I think I can idealize the “way” I want to be, but the idealized view is very different from practical reality.  This bothers me.  It bothers me that I pray for God to work in people in ways that I don’t feel is going on in my own.  Wow, maybe I should pray those same prayers for myself! (in a related, yet unrelated, note, I heard a preacher on the radio say that we shouldn’t pray for ourselves much because there’s not much power there, but there is tons of power in our prayers for others).

I’m not depressed about it, but rather acutely aware.

Achh…

Responses

  1. WHAT? did that preacher say? Like, I’m not following. Maybe a better way of saying it would have been, “Watch how you pray for yourself.” I agree there is amazing power in praying for those in our sphere of aquaintances, especially our brothers and sisters in the FAMILY, but not praying for ourselves…. hmm….. Can you explain a little more what he was trying to say?

    Thanks,
    Merry

  2. He was referring to the problem that many people have of feeling that God does not hear them when they pray, He’s doesn’t seem to be giving them the power to be victorious over their issues. This man’s solution was stop praying for yourself so much and pray for others. I don’t know where he was supporting that in Scripture, I didn’t hear that much. But it sort of makes sense, other people’s prayers for you issues will often have a greater effect, whether it’s because of the power of the prayer or the accountability factor I don’t know.

  3. He was referring to the problem that many people have of feeling that God does not hear them when they pray, He’s doesn’t seem to be giving them the power to be victorious over their issues. This man’s solution was stop praying for yourself so much and pray for others. I don’t know where he was supporting that in Scripture, I didn’t hear that much. But it sort of makes sense, other people’s prayers for you issues will often have a greater effect, whether it’s because of the power of the prayer or the accountability factor I don’t know.

  4. I don’t believe that we should be selfish and major on praying for ourselves while minoring on praying for others, but friends love to talk with each other, right? Isn’t that prayer? By all means, talk to God a lot! not as a treasure chest in the sky but as a dear friend close by. (Hey, that even rhymes!) Miss

  5. Right Aunt Barb, I gotcha.

    If you have others praying for you it’ll help, I know that.

  6. Right Aunt Barb, I gotcha.

    If you have others praying for you it’ll help, I know that.

  7. Miss, I think that is what gets me sometimes about the ways people say things. I think that’s kind of what I was reacting to when I read the initial post. So if I can’t spend time delighting in God and allowing Him to delight in me, what have I really got? Nothing worth keeping….thanks for the perspective.

    Merry

  8. Miss, I think that is what gets me sometimes about the ways people say things. I think that’s kind of what I was reacting to when I read the initial post. So if I can’t spend time delighting in God and allowing Him to delight in me, what have I really got? Nothing worth keeping….thanks for the perspective.

    Merry

  9. To clarify — what I don’t like about the ways people communicate sometimes is that I don’t think they meant to say what their audience heard. But so it goes….

    Merry

  10. To clarify — what I don’t like about the ways people communicate sometimes is that I don’t think they meant to say what their audience heard. But so it goes….

    Merry


Leave a Reply

Categories

