Posted by: thebylog | August 8, 2004

Leaving

Sigh.

I have this issue with leaving social events. Two cases in point.

Last Sunday was the big 50th wedding anniversary for my grandparent from 2-6 in the afternoon. Tons of people, overcrowded facility, but it was fun because there was lots of family and other people that I knew. Not THAT fun, though. The temptation to leave with Randy at about 5:00 was too much for me. But when I left I felt bad for leaving all my family and the big celebration. It sounded like they had a grand ol’ time after I left, too.

And tonight we had another family thing on my dad’s side because my cousin’s girlfriend is here and we got together to meet her. I hung out there awhile (got to talk to Rosie a little bit, which was wonderful), but there was something going on with the youth group that my sister was going to. I ended up leaving with her and I had the same twinges.

Hmm… It’s probably my heart telling me I shouldn’t have left. But my heart wanted to leave…

So I’m confused. What’s “gnu”?

What do you call a Mennonite detective? James Bondtrager.

Get it?

I’m joyful. God is good, Christian fellowship is wonderful, and life is as it should be.

Well, I don’t know if life is as it should be. It should be more fruitful and productive, in the spiritual sense, than it is. But it’s still great.

Responses

  1. I’m interested in knowing what tugged either way…if you follow.

    Merry

  2. Why did I choose to leave?

    In the first case because of the chance to relax and hang out at home. In the second, to go where the action was with my friends.

  3. So what made you feel bad about leaving? a sense of duty or genuine care?

    Actually, you really aren’t obligated to answer that.
    🙂

    Merry

  4. hey!! i know exactly what you are going through. i have the exact same problems. i want to leave to go where the action is and where my friends are but then i also feel bad for leaving cause i also want to spend time with who ever is here. i try though to even it out and say ok so when will i get to spend time with these people again next and most of the time that is what decides it for me. if you know what i mean? of course there are times when that doesn’t work either. well i should go. it is good to hear what is going on in your life. i also find it interesting that so many people our age are giong through the exact same things and situations that we are.

    Tammy

  5. hey!! i know exactly what you are going through. i have the exact same problems. i want to leave to go where the action is and where my friends are but then i also feel bad for leaving cause i also want to spend time with who ever is here. i try though to even it out and say ok so when will i get to spend time with these people again next and most of the time that is what decides it for me. if you know what i mean? of course there are times when that doesn’t work either. well i should go. it is good to hear what is going on in your life. i also find it interesting that so many people our age are giong through the exact same things and situations that we are.

    Tammy

  6. Did you go to the youth thing?? I’m dissapointed in you if you didn’t… I wish I was going to the social tonight…. 😦 Lauren

  7. Did you go to the youth thing?? I’m dissapointed in you if you didn’t… I wish I was going to the social tonight…. 😦 Lauren

  8. I did go to the youth thing, much to my chagrin. But I probably would have had much chagrin too if I would have stayed at the family deal.

  9. I did go to the youth thing, much to my chagrin. But I probably would have had much chagrin too if I would have stayed at the family deal.

  10. James Bondtrager! Ha ha!! I really like that one. I’ll have to tell Jewel, that would go right along with her “Arnold” one.

    Tom

  11. James Bondtrager! Ha ha!! I really like that one. I’ll have to tell Jewel, that would go right along with her “Arnold” one.

    Tom

  12. What’s that Tom? Arnold Swartzentruber?

  13. What’s that Tom? Arnold Swartzentruber?

  14. by did come to the youth thing. and we are proud of him. good job by, to come where the action is. 🙂

    q

  15. by did come to the youth thing. and we are proud of him. good job by, to come where the action is. 🙂

    q

  16. Yep, Darin, that’s it.

    Tom

  17. Yep, Darin, that’s it.

    Tom


Leave a Reply

Categories

