Posted by: thebylog | August 21, 2004

Where is God?

Had a heartbreaking discussion with someone a couple of days ago. It was a good discussion in a way, but heartbreaking. I feel for a person that feels as if he’s never been acknowledged by God, even after he’s tried his very best to seek and find Him. Doesn’t seem right; I don’t have the answers.

Without putting words into this man’s mouth, here’s something that could come from someone with a perspective such as his.

“Are you there, God? Please, talk to me! Speak … something. Why, when I call, when I’ve tried, when I’ve done all that I can to reach out to You, why haven’t you reached out to me? Why?

“You know, you said that if I sought you with all of my heart I’d find you. That’s what you said! So why haven’t I found you? I tried, for so long, to be the person I was supposed to be, but it was like you were never there for me.

“God!

“Why do I even use the word? Why do I even acknowledge you when you’ve never answered me before?

“I’m dying inside, I’m haunted. I look up at the heavens, throw my hands in the air, and scream, “WHERE ARE YOU? Show me yourself!”

“The sky is clear, but my soul is not.

“But where can I go?”

Responses

  1. i think i have an idea of what this person is going through. sometimes to me that is the way it seems to put it mildly. do you know what i mean? and also sometimes when i pray about certain things that i am facing in life it just seems like sometimes i am praying to no one or it seems like no one is listening. if you know what i mean? do you ever feel like that? is there something wrong when we do feel like that? i have really tried to search the scriptures about things like this and find out what God would have for me and for some reason or another i just can’t put my finger on it. is there somewhere where i should look other than the places i have been looking? just wondering. well i should go and stop rambling. have a good one. Tammy

  2. i think i have an idea of what this person is going through. sometimes to me that is the way it seems to put it mildly. do you know what i mean? and also sometimes when i pray about certain things that i am facing in life it just seems like sometimes i am praying to no one or it seems like no one is listening. if you know what i mean? do you ever feel like that? is there something wrong when we do feel like that? i have really tried to search the scriptures about things like this and find out what God would have for me and for some reason or another i just can’t put my finger on it. is there somewhere where i should look other than the places i have been looking? just wondering. well i should go and stop rambling. have a good one. Tammy

  3. So many are wandering
    Looking for something
    But their quest for life continues
    Their searching never ends
    They’re lost in the darkness
    Their journey seems hopeless
    As they’re seeking out the answer
    Trying to find the way

    How do they live a moment?
    How do they face a day?
    How do they stumble through the darkness
    If you don’t light their way?
    How do they make it through the trials?
    How do they face their fears?
    How they can they survive
    Without You near?

    I can’t help but ask myself the question. What stands between this man and God? I’m not standing in the place of judgement at all, I don’t know his heart, but Scripture clearly states that those who seek will find! Why would God in all His great and awesome love shut the door on the heart of a true seeker? It doesn’t tie up. We can long for truth, we can long to KNOW, but sometimes we first need to let go.

  4. So many are wandering
    Looking for something
    But their quest for life continues
    Their searching never ends
    They’re lost in the darkness
    Their journey seems hopeless
    As they’re seeking out the answer
    Trying to find the way

    How do they live a moment?
    How do they face a day?
    How do they stumble through the darkness
    If you don’t light their way?
    How do they make it through the trials?
    How do they face their fears?
    How they can they survive
    Without You near?

    I can’t help but ask myself the question. What stands between this man and God? I’m not standing in the place of judgement at all, I don’t know his heart, but Scripture clearly states that those who seek will find! Why would God in all His great and awesome love shut the door on the heart of a true seeker? It doesn’t tie up. We can long for truth, we can long to KNOW, but sometimes we first need to let go.

  5. I want to agree with you. I want to believe that God means it when He says that if you seek with your whole heart you will find.

    Crystal

  6. I’ve run into this before. I’m wondering if it doesn’t stem from wanting to dictate to God what His “appearing” to us should look like, and if it doesn’t look that way we think He hasn’t revealed Himself. All the time He is doing everything possible to waken our hearts to the Reality of who He is. Maybe it’s because we’re trying to fit Him into a “box” He doesn’t fit into.

    Uhmmm….am I making any sense?

    Merry

  7. Hey, that’s an interesting thought. You know, God is under no obligation to us to make his presence felt. Isn’t faith going beyond what we feel? God doesn’t have to play by our rules either. Job went though an incredibly long and intense time of seeking God, asking questions such as By posted and no answers until God finally finished his work on Job. I think I can understand God’s purpose a little better now. God’s real interest in anything he has us go through is not only the end result, but mostly the process through which the end result is brought. I’m not saying any of this because I know the right answers. This is area is quite relalive to what God is working on in my life. I’m beginning to understand (minutely)God’s way of working.

  8. i cry out with no reply
    and i can’t feel You by my side
    so i hold tight to what i know
    You’re here
    and i’m never alone

  9. The LORD is close to all who call on him, yes, to all who call on him sincerely.

    Psalm 145:18 NLT

  10. The LORD is close to all who call on him, yes, to all who call on him sincerely.

    Psalm 145:18 NLT

  11. Darin, let me say here that it’s exciting to hear you say that you’re beginning to understand. But let me tell you, it’s only the beginning. God is SO beyond what we can imagine that all of our existence becomes a never-ending adventure where there are continually new vistas over the tops of the mountains, exquisite surprises around the bends, and a sense that this is the adventure — the life abundant — we were created for. The more I know Him, the more I am awed by how much I don’t know Him. Woah! I’m feeling a little breathless…. 🙂

    Merry

  12. Would it be something like the more we see of God the more we begin to understand? Then finally, one day when we see God, all those little pieces of beginning turn into an arriving.

    I realize that our beginnings of understanding are never enough, but it’s always thrilling to get a new glimpse.

  13. What I’ve wondered already is if maybe what we consider “arriving” isn’t just a new “beginning.” My thought is that what will make heaven the experience beyond any other is the ongoing adventure of “knowing” Him as He “knows” us, in that deepest, most intimate way one can be known. It’s what our hearts yearn, reach, almost go crazy for at the deepest part of who we are. Oh, take me there!

    Merry

  14. I like that. A new beginning that includes new “eyes” that can see things in way more like God does.

    From a logical standpoint, if this life was where things stopped, wouldn’t it seem that since we can’t know or understand God to the fullest it would be pointless to even try? But I thought of that and how I know that I’ll never stop learning to play the piano better. I can set certain goals as an “arriving” but I’ll never be able to get to a point where I’ll be able to stop learning. Yet that doesn’t discourage me, in fact it eggs me on. And as a Christian we can have the goal of perfection! That’s exciting.

  15. You know what I’m sayin’….

    Merry


Leave a Reply

Categories

