Posted by: thebylog | August 22, 2004

On the Christian’s View of Government

Thesis: Christians ought not labor for a government that enforces their particular sense of morality.

Pro-: the Bible says we are to worry about the morality of our fellow Christians but not that of unbelievers. It also says any godly person will suffer persecution. Why should Christians be working toward a government that would do precisely the opposite? If we succeeded in, for example, attaining an all-Christian government, then what would we have? Depending on the leadership’s philosophy, we’d be like Iran except Christian instead of Moslem. Well, I don’t know that. I don’t know what the activist Christian’s ideal is if complete control was attained. Would our country still have the freedom to sin or would the goal be to eliminate any sinful practice?

Anti-: if not the Judeo-Christian ethic, what? What’s to keep a society from imploding if not guided by an objective morality? And Christians should be laboring for the right on any level, whether it’s government, business, church, or … engineering. You know: abortion is murder, murder is wrong, thus Christians must fight against it.

So I don’t know. But I’m a strong proponent of separation of church and state. Where the line between “church” and “we-have-to-have-some-standard-for-society-to-function” is I don’t know.

Responses

  1. But we have to keep wrestling with these issues. We’ve got to meet God in the middle of this struggle and find what He’s called us to. Doesn’t happen without some major effort and humility on our part tho.

    Merry

  2. I have never posted on this blog before but I came across it a while ago and have been reading it some since. I just want to tell you that you think about deep stuff…which is good (most people would never think of some of these things). I just wrote some of my own thoughts to try to clear my mind on some of these things. Sorry if they bore you. I am not sure if they are what your talking about or not. So ignore them if they are totally off the wall. : )

    This issue of Christians and government is something I have thought about a lot….and I think you are right in that Christians should first and foremost be a light to the dark world and reach out to them…and make sure that we are living consistent lives. I do think though that in reaching the lost we need to use the law to help them see that they are desperately in need of salvation. Sometimes of which is showing them their moral darkness compared to God’s light.

    But as for Christians in government it is a whole lot more confusing….because it is obvious that government involvement is not going to moralize anybody…it’s just going to make the advocates of immorality more angry at conservatives. But separation between church and state was never intentioned for the church to stay out of the government (although today liberals try to say it is), though it was for the state to stay out of the church….and it is not in our constitution. So on a political level the church has all the right to interfere with government. But on a spiritual level I don’t know if it does…probably most Christians who are involved in government make it a better government but by being involved in government it doesn’t make them better Christians. I don’t know. But this is pathetically long. Sorry. You have made some good observations…keep it up. God Bless. -Marcel

  3. I have never posted on this blog before but I came across it a while ago and have been reading it some since. I just want to tell you that you think about deep stuff…which is good (most people would never think of some of these things). I just wrote some of my own thoughts to try to clear my mind on some of these things. Sorry if they bore you. I am not sure if they are what your talking about or not. So ignore them if they are totally off the wall. : )

    This issue of Christians and government is something I have thought about a lot….and I think you are right in that Christians should first and foremost be a light to the dark world and reach out to them…and make sure that we are living consistent lives. I do think though that in reaching the lost we need to use the law to help them see that they are desperately in need of salvation. Sometimes of which is showing them their moral darkness compared to God’s light.

    But as for Christians in government it is a whole lot more confusing….because it is obvious that government involvement is not going to moralize anybody…it’s just going to make the advocates of immorality more angry at conservatives. But separation between church and state was never intentioned for the church to stay out of the government (although today liberals try to say it is), though it was for the state to stay out of the church….and it is not in our constitution. So on a political level the church has all the right to interfere with government. But on a spiritual level I don’t know if it does…probably most Christians who are involved in government make it a better government but by being involved in government it doesn’t make them better Christians. I don’t know. But this is pathetically long. Sorry. You have made some good observations…keep it up. God Bless. -Marcel

  4. Marcel, good stuff, thanks for the perspective.

  5. Marcel, good stuff, thanks for the perspective.

  6. i agree with you on that–state should stay out of the church, not necessarily vice-versa. BUT, if getting involved the affairs of the state puts the church in a political turmoil, then what? i.e.: 1/2 church is rabidly democratic, 1/2 painfully republican. who’s right?

  7. Of course, whether the church should be involved in government is debatable in my mind, if nothing else because of the compromise that it might entail.

  8. Marcel, I appreciate your input here. It’s important that Christians understand that God makes a difference in the world through people. I believe my “box” for this is too small. Right now I’m reading a book by Nancy Pearcy entitled, “Total Truth.” If any of you can get your hands on a copy, READ IT. It’s not an easy read, but it is very practical in it’s bottom line application. Be prepared to think — HARD. 🙂

    Merry

  9. Why the Republicans would be right, of course.

    Tom


Leave a Reply

Categories

