Posted by: thebylog | August 25, 2004

Love Songs

Make sure and put me in the “Pro Love Song” category.

Oh yeah, love songs should be applauded, not as substitutes for the Ultimate Love or focal points of the Christian’s life, but as expressions of the great gift of love the Ultimate Love has given us.

The whole idea of “Christian” music is a little misguided anyway, I think. Christian songwriters should write about life from a Christian perspective. I think that would mean that they write lots of “Christian” songs about their great passion, but they might write about “A Big White String” or how strange the thinking processes of girls are. You know.

Now, I’m not sure how that plays out in the popular music marketplace, but that’s a whole different discussion, the “Christian Music Industry.” I think the wrong people have the power; it’s set up all wrong anyway.

Responses

  1. By, you’re definitely onto something. I think it has to do with what our worldview is and how we allow the way God has wired us to impact our culture. We react so much to things instead of simply living/being from the identity God is giving us. Reaction nearly always causes us to “throw the baby out with the bathwater” in more ways than one on both sides of the issue.

    Merry

  2. By, you’re definitely onto something. I think it has to do with what our worldview is and how we allow the way God has wired us to impact our culture. We react so much to things instead of simply living/being from the identity God is giving us. Reaction nearly always causes us to “throw the baby out with the bathwater” in more ways than one on both sides of the issue.

    Merry

  3. So who has the power? How is it set up?

    Tom

  4. Good questions, Tom. I was gonna get there eventually. You beat me to it. 🙂

    Merry

  5. The “thinking processes of girls” are not strange. Just because they differ than that of the opposite gender doesn’t automatically make them “strange”.

    We are so messed up! Anything that is different from what we are used to, anything that is different than how we “do it”, anything out of our little box, we automatically define as “strange”.

    Different is not strange. Different is unexplored territory that offers a fresh perspective, an exciting adventure, a chance to grow, to stretch, to expand the frightfully stagnant contours of our minds. Different is refreshing, invigorating, and challenging.

    Dare to be different.

    Ag

  6. Oh yeah Ag! Wondered where you were hiding…

    Merry

  7. Way to pound By Ag! That doesn’t happen enough on here, does it! And when it does happen, it’s usually me. Nice to have some company!

    So what is strange then? By your definition, nothing would ever be strange.

    Tom

  8. Way to pound By Ag! That doesn’t happen enough on here, does it! And when it does happen, it’s usually me. Nice to have some company!

    So what is strange then? By your definition, nothing would ever be strange.

    Tom

  9. Merry, I haven’t been hiding anywhere. I’ve been overtaken with kids. My sister and I had three kids for nine days while there parents went on a cruise. NOT a boring nine days. And now, we are in New York with a family that we have been helping out for the past several years. His father is on the verge of death and it was more than they could handle with being over there and meeting the needs of their kids, so, we are here with their kids, freeing them up to be with their family. Okay, is there anything else you didn’t want to know?

    Tom, didn’t you know that my goal in life is to be just like you? Well, I didn’t either, but it sounds good. Okay, here goes nothing. Yes, there are some things in life that are strange. Take you, for instance. But strange is not always a bad thing. We missuse “strange” as defined “slightly odd or even a bit weird”. BUT strange in the sense of “not known before”, or “being definitely out of the ordinary and unexpected” has it’s place.

    When we use “strange” as defining the thinking process of girls, one automatically assumes that one is implying that there is something weird, or wrong with the thinking process of the feminine gender. When in reality, that is not the case, spare a few colorful exceptions. To a guy it is very likely that the mind pattern of the opposite gender is “definitely out of the ordinary and unexpected”, and vice versa, because men and women think differently.

    But, what I am getting at is how that we view anything or anybody that is different from us as strange/weird. People are always afraid of what is different because “different” can be unsettling, and can pull us miles away from our comfort zone. And too often we label it as strange/wierd, and walk on by because we are afraid of it.

  10. Merry, I haven’t been hiding anywhere. I’ve been overtaken with kids. My sister and I had three kids for nine days while there parents went on a cruise. NOT a boring nine days. And now, we are in New York with a family that we have been helping out for the past several years. His father is on the verge of death and it was more than they could handle with being over there and meeting the needs of their kids, so, we are here with their kids, freeing them up to be with their family. Okay, is there anything else you didn’t want to know?

    Tom, didn’t you know that my goal in life is to be just like you? Well, I didn’t either, but it sounds good. Okay, here goes nothing. Yes, there are some things in life that are strange. Take you, for instance. But strange is not always a bad thing. We missuse “strange” as defined “slightly odd or even a bit weird”. BUT strange in the sense of “not known before”, or “being definitely out of the ordinary and unexpected” has it’s place.

    When we use “strange” as defining the thinking process of girls, one automatically assumes that one is implying that there is something weird, or wrong with the thinking process of the feminine gender. When in reality, that is not the case, spare a few colorful exceptions. To a guy it is very likely that the mind pattern of the opposite gender is “definitely out of the ordinary and unexpected”, and vice versa, because men and women think differently.

    But, what I am getting at is how that we view anything or anybody that is different from us as strange/weird. People are always afraid of what is different because “different” can be unsettling, and can pull us miles away from our comfort zone. And too often we label it as strange/wierd, and walk on by because we are afraid of it.

  11. Sincerely,

    Ag

    PAAAAAAAH! I crack myself up.

  12. Sincerely,

    Ag

    PAAAAAAAH! I crack myself up.

  13. Huge secular conglomerates own the record companies that service the majority of artists in the CCM industry. And it’s obvious that they’re not interested in ministry or the spiritual well-being of the listeners–they’re driven by money. While true that the artists have some say in their presentation, song selection, etc., there’s still a huge conflict of interest. Anyone that’s been to a CCM concert, what’s with all the hype? It seems to me the hype’s all about selling tickets and albums and getting 13 year old girls to scream at the “hot” guys on stage, which sells more tickets and albums and generates buzz about the group. You know?

  14. Huge secular conglomerates own the record companies that service the majority of artists in the CCM industry. And it’s obvious that they’re not interested in ministry or the spiritual well-being of the listeners–they’re driven by money. While true that the artists have some say in their presentation, song selection, etc., there’s still a huge conflict of interest. Anyone that’s been to a CCM concert, what’s with all the hype? It seems to me the hype’s all about selling tickets and albums and getting 13 year old girls to scream at the “hot” guys on stage, which sells more tickets and albums and generates buzz about the group. You know?

  15. Strange, dictionary.com:

    Not previously known; unfamiliar.

    Out of the ordinary; unusual or striking.
    Differing from the normal.

    I’m glad girls thing differently than guys. Certainly, their thought processes are unfamiliar and out of the ordinary to me, though.

    I understand where you come from, however.

  16. Strange, dictionary.com:

    Not previously known; unfamiliar.

    Out of the ordinary; unusual or striking.
    Differing from the normal.

    I’m glad girls thing differently than guys. Certainly, their thought processes are unfamiliar and out of the ordinary to me, though.

    I understand where you come from, however.

  17. Aq, you don’t know HOW many times I’ve describled ‘strange’ in a simarlar way to some of my friends. Strange is different. Different is good. Usually.! By, meaning ‘love songs’, I assume you are meaning stuff like ‘Cherish the treasue’ and some of the ones Steve Green sings, that type, right? Not the type that mekes the 13 yr. old girls scream, right? I love those sort of songs. They deffinately have there place. They’re fun to sing, too… Lauren

  18. Question:

    Why are older people afraid of change while younger seem to embrace it?

    Ag

  19. Is it perhaps because older people have already been through their season when change was cool, and now understand some things on the other side of it. I think the reason young people so easily embrace change is because they are in the process of taking ownership of their own worldview and its applications. That doesn’t happen when one just does things a certain way because that’s the way they’ve always been done. It’s sort of an, “If you love me, give me wings,” situation. I don’t KNOOOOOW! Maybe I’m off the wall, too.

    Merry

  20. I think there needs to be a balance between the two. I see young people too open to embrace any new thing that is thrown there way, and then on the other side of the coin, older people who are stuck in a desperate rut. Both bother me.

    Ag

  21. I think there needs to be a balance between the two. I see young people too open to embrace any new thing that is thrown there way, and then on the other side of the coin, older people who are stuck in a desperate rut. Both bother me.

    Ag

  22. Is it wrong to hate funerals?

    Ag

  23. Is it wrong to hate funerals?

    Ag

  24. No. Thank you for asking.

    And I despise many of our morbid funeral traditions.

    Tom

  25. Like what, Tom?

    I’m not saying I like funerals, but I’ve sometimes felt something purifying and healing happening through the process.

    Crystal

  26. Tom, I knew I liked you! We should view funerals through the eyes of a child! I was at a funeral today. One of the kids I am taking care of right now said, “Why is everyone crying? Grandpa is in Heaven.”

    I would never go to a funeral again if I had the choice. I really don’t like them at all. There is always this air of gloom and depression and dark colors at funerals ARE overrated!

    But kids are so sweet. I love the way they handle death with such enthusiastic confidence. I carried a three year old past his grandfather’s body. He reached down, and laid his little hand on the cold, clasped hands. Hands that were once warm with life and energy. Hands that held him, touched him, loved him. And the dear child smiled. He smiled and I wept. There is such innocence, such acceptance, such faith in the eyes of a child. Oh that I may see life through the eyes of a child. Oh that I may see death through the eyes of a child. Innocent eyes.

    But funerals. I hate funerals. I wish God would have asked me. I would have requested mini raptures. You know, he’s here, he’s gone. But then, not everyone is like me. Some people need “closure”. They like the final look, the final touch.

    Ag

  27. I would say what I think about funerals, but it might seem out of place after Ag’s elegant comments.

    Tom

  28. I wanna know, I wanna know, I wanna know. (Picture me leaping up and down and shrieking with anticipation.)

    See last night I was weepy and thoughtful. But this morning…….come on out and shoot.

    Please don’t deprive me of this one happiness in my life. The happiness that comes from seeing inside the heart and mind of you, oh Tom, of you.

    Ag

  29. You crack me up!

    Ok. I think the whole open-casket, “file by and make a big ritual out of gazing upon the departed’s remains” is morbid, unnecesary, and borderline uncalled for. I don’t like it at all.

    But since I’m in a mellow and generous mood, I’ll allow that while I’ve been to MANY funerals, never have I attended one centered on a close friend or family member. So maybe I’d think different then.

    I doubt it though.

    Tom

  30. Oh I am so with you on that. And what I hate even worse is when they usher you out through the front of the church and then you absolutely HAVE to look because everyone is watching and it would be rude not too. And what is even worse than that. I think this funeral was the only one that I have been to, that I recall anyhow, that they did this. They brought the body to the front of the church and then opened the lid! I FREAKED out! I was like, “oh no, I am going to have to see that the entire service.” But then it became almost comical because all I could see was his nose and his chin.

    I think after someone is in their casket, that lid outta be kept SHUT!

    Ag

  31. Yeah, I HATE ‘viewing the body’. Why do I wanna look at someone dead?? That’s not the way I knew them!! Theres been more than one viewing I’ve attended that I didn’t even go NEAR the body. My dad is different than me for sure on that one, though. He LOOKS. And Looks. And LOOKS! Lauri

  32. Right on, people. And then when they’re filing past in front, in view of the whole church, lift up the small children and have them gaze and gaze and gaze! *shudder*

    Tom

  33. Right on, people. And then when they’re filing past in front, in view of the whole church, lift up the small children and have them gaze and gaze and gaze! *shudder*

    Tom

  34. If my parents would have done that to me when I was a child, I would have had nightmares! Even as a kid, I looked the other way. I was watching people file past at the funeral, and almost all of them lifted up their kids. No way will you find me doing that with my kids, unless of course they want to. The kids I was taking care of really thought it was cool. I took them to the viewing and the little five year old girl went up with her parents and came charging back to where I was conveniently lingering in the BACK of the church. Her eyes were shining and she enthusiastically told me about Grandpa in the front. Then she asked if I want to go up and touch him too. I declined. Even the twins, who are three, thought it was cool and touched him frequently. It just makes me shudder.

    Ag

  35. If my parents would have done that to me when I was a child, I would have had nightmares! Even as a kid, I looked the other way. I was watching people file past at the funeral, and almost all of them lifted up their kids. No way will you find me doing that with my kids, unless of course they want to. The kids I was taking care of really thought it was cool. I took them to the viewing and the little five year old girl went up with her parents and came charging back to where I was conveniently lingering in the BACK of the church. Her eyes were shining and she enthusiastically told me about Grandpa in the front. Then she asked if I want to go up and touch him too. I declined. Even the twins, who are three, thought it was cool and touched him frequently. It just makes me shudder.

    Ag

  36. Sorry people I don’t understand what’s so creepy about it. When your dear loved one is lying there in a casket, there is nothing creepy about it. Just very sad. It’s an empty body. What’s so creepy about that? Also I wander why the Jews have a long grieving period. I wander if God doesn’t want us to take the time to grieve, and I wander what happens if we don’t. Besides if we are really honest there is nothing quick about saying good-bye. In fact the sadness of saying good-bye to someone close never really goes away.

  37. Sorry people I don’t understand what’s so creepy about it. When your dear loved one is lying there in a casket, there is nothing creepy about it. Just very sad. It’s an empty body. What’s so creepy about that? Also I wander why the Jews have a long grieving period. I wander if God doesn’t want us to take the time to grieve, and I wander what happens if we don’t. Besides if we are really honest there is nothing quick about saying good-bye. In fact the sadness of saying good-bye to someone close never really goes away.

  38. Nobody said anything about length of grieving (unless I forgot), we just don’t like dead stuff! And find it very disconcerting when other people seem to be fascinated by it.

    Tom

  39. Nobody said anything about length of grieving (unless I forgot), we just don’t like dead stuff! And find it very disconcerting when other people seem to be fascinated by it.

    Tom

  40. Different people have different ways of handling their grief. Different people are at different places on their journeys and in their experiences. I am glad those of you who have been sharing have found others with whom you feel free to share openly about your frustration of “traditional” ways of handling grief. At the same time, have a care that you do not place those who do choose this way in too small of a box or slap a label on the box that is truthfully inadequate.
    As one who has grieved and who has lived through the process with dear friends and relatives, I believe that giving people room to grieve and respecting that grief allows you opportunities to be blessed and to be a blessing. I guess bottom-line, what I’m trying to say is, “Don’t get hung up on appearances and miss something else that God is doing.”

    Merry

  41. Different people have different ways of handling their grief. Different people are at different places on their journeys and in their experiences. I am glad those of you who have been sharing have found others with whom you feel free to share openly about your frustration of “traditional” ways of handling grief. At the same time, have a care that you do not place those who do choose this way in too small of a box or slap a label on the box that is truthfully inadequate.
    As one who has grieved and who has lived through the process with dear friends and relatives, I believe that giving people room to grieve and respecting that grief allows you opportunities to be blessed and to be a blessing. I guess bottom-line, what I’m trying to say is, “Don’t get hung up on appearances and miss something else that God is doing.”

    Merry


Leave a Reply

Categories

