Posted by: thebylog | September 3, 2004

Radio

Radio during the 2 o’clock hour is great around here. You have a preacher that takes calls on the Bible and Christian life. You have a catholic psycho-somebody who gives life and medical advice, Fresh Air with Terry Gross, Sean Hannity and Michael Medved (two great conservative hosts), and Dan Patrick on sports. Then a little later you have this completely bombastic, sometimes vitriolic lady from New York–Randi Rhodes–on a little later. And Bill O’Reilly. So much good stuff, not enough ears.

I want to tell you about our equation, but it’s too late. Suffice it to say I had a really great time helping to formulate this crazy equation that will hopefully be useful to us in our research project.

Responses

  1. Just don’t forget to tell us about it, okay? 🙂

    Merry

  2. 2 o’clock used to be a pretty dead hour on the radio. Glad that’s changed, except I would consider some of the shows you mentioned pretty boring. Dan Patrick? Nap time. Give me Jim Rome anyday (if it needs to be sports).

    Tom

  3. 2 o’clock used to be a pretty dead hour on the radio. Glad that’s changed, except I would consider some of the shows you mentioned pretty boring. Dan Patrick? Nap time. Give me Jim Rome anyday (if it needs to be sports).

    Tom

  4. Fresh Air with Terry Gross sounds somewhat like an oxymoron. Maybe I’m just twisted.
    Nony Mouse

  5. Fresh Air with Terry Gross sounds somewhat like an oxymoron. Maybe I’m just twisted.
    Nony Mouse

  6. Now there’s another dreadful show. Can’t believe you listen to that By.

    Tom

  7. Now there’s another dreadful show. Can’t believe you listen to that By.

    Tom

  8. My dad calls it “Stale Air.” I would say, though, that “Toxic” or “Polluted” would be more plausible. The “Terry Gross” part is fitting.

  9. My dad calls it “Stale Air.” I would say, though, that “Toxic” or “Polluted” would be more plausible. The “Terry Gross” part is fitting.

  10. Hah, hah. Is “Terry” an abbreviated form of terrible?

  11. Hah, hah. Is “Terry” an abbreviated form of terrible?

  12. Ha ha! Stale Air, I like that.

    Hey By, I was thinking tonight. Being the leftist liberal you are, what do you really think of your candidate John Kerry?

    Tom

  13. Ha ha! Stale Air, I like that.

    Hey By, I was thinking tonight. Being the leftist liberal you are, what do you really think of your candidate John Kerry?

    Tom

  14. I will defend Ms. Gross on the basis of her entertainment value. She often has compelling guests and is a very good interviewer, if a little liberally biased. I’m pretty sure she is a liberal, but that doesn’t diminish how interesting her show is.

    There’s no question in my mind that I could never support John Kerry for president, but actually a more accurate description of my political standing would be “a-” as in apolitical. I have ideas about the world, some of which seem to fall outside of traditional conservative ideas, at least as many Christians today apply them.

  15. I will defend Ms. Gross on the basis of her entertainment value. She often has compelling guests and is a very good interviewer, if a little liberally biased. I’m pretty sure she is a liberal, but that doesn’t diminish how interesting her show is.

    There’s no question in my mind that I could never support John Kerry for president, but actually a more accurate description of my political standing would be “a-” as in apolitical. I have ideas about the world, some of which seem to fall outside of traditional conservative ideas, at least as many Christians today apply them.

  16. Oh, woah, that’s a relief! I thought for a moment there that Tom really was serious about John Kerry being your candidate!!! Lauren

  17. Oh, woah, that’s a relief! I thought for a moment there that Tom really was serious about John Kerry being your candidate!!! Lauren

  18. talk radio is a life-saver if you are a combiner. at least then there is someone with whom to argue

  19. Tell us about these ideas sometime By, I think it would be interesting to read.

  20. I HAVE been telling you about my ideas, my questions. Very heavy on politics lately, too.

  21. I HAVE been telling you about my ideas, my questions. Very heavy on politics lately, too.

  22. It’s in the details By, I know how you hate them, but you’re usually very vague.

    Tom


Leave a Reply

Categories

