Posted by: thebylog | September 7, 2004

A Step Back

I had a big, long post. HAD a big long post. Spare me the lecture Tom, but I lost it when the tenuous internet connection broke. Let’s see if I can summarize.

I’m Byran Smucker, 22, Senior in Industrial Engineering at Oregon State University. I’ll graduate in March. I like Math.

I’m working 3 jobs right now. One for my dad, two at the University. Dad pays better, OSU is more intellectually stimulating.

School is exciting, but graduation will birth more exciting things.

Will I win a Marshall Scholarship? Will I go to grad school in Massachusetts? Can I spell Massachussetts correctly?

Or how about this: I applied for Rescue’s vacant tenor vocalist position. Rescue is a full-time contemporary Christian a cappella group from Portland. It’s not a no-brainer, that I’d take the job if offered, but it’s an intriguing possibility. You just don’t get the opportunity to sing full-time for Jesus very often. I mean, you gotta be kidding me. But I haven’t been offered the job. They need someone very soon. I couldn’t go until March, even if they wanted me.

If I don’t become a singer, I have five months to fill before next fall. I’m kicking around several ideas: SMBI 5th term, mission/vs (can anybody say Waynesboro, VA?), travelling.

That’s it, my life.

Responses

  1. You’ve heard the lecture before, haven’t you!

    What’s in VA (besides Merry)?

    Tom

  2. You’ve heard the lecture before, haven’t you!

    What’s in VA (besides Merry)?

    Tom

  3. Duh, Tom, all sorts of people. The Goods, Darin, and the BMA friends from Cumberland/Farmville. But, “Oh, wouldn’t it be loverly!” πŸ™‚

    Merry

  4. Duh, Tom, all sorts of people. The Goods, Darin, and the BMA friends from Cumberland/Farmville. But, “Oh, wouldn’t it be loverly!” πŸ™‚

    Merry

  5. hey merry!! i like that one. yes, there are the bma friends but you can’t forget about all you there up in south boston too. i am sure you all know him alot better than us down here. he is alot of fun though i will give him that. come again when ever you have the chance. Tammy

  6. hey merry!! i like that one. yes, there are the bma friends but you can’t forget about all you there up in south boston too. i am sure you all know him alot better than us down here. he is alot of fun though i will give him that. come again when ever you have the chance. Tammy

  7. My, my. I’m honored to be included on “the list.”

    What’s in Waynesboro?

  8. My, my. I’m honored to be included on “the list.”

    What’s in Waynesboro?

  9. What would happen is that you would come visit By, and then y’all would come visit us in SoBo. And Merry would come too. Sweet fellowship.

    Crystal

  10. Yeah!… very sweet…

    Merry

  11. Don’t get hasty, it’s not much more than an idea at this point. Who knows if it’ll happen, but really it seems a decent possibility at this point.

  12. what’s BME? you didn’t answer tom’s ??

  13. what’s BME? you didn’t answer tom’s ??

  14. I wish you’d get the job with Rescue!!!!!
    Lauren

  15. I wish you’d get the job with Rescue!!!!!
    Lauren

  16. He never answers my commenting questions anymore.

    He ignores them.

    Tom

  17. He never answers my commenting questions anymore.

    He ignores them.

    Tom

  18. Tom, good one you are to talk about ignoring!! You (apparently) ignored my email….
    Lauren

  19. What email? Send it again, I must’ve not’ve gotten it.

    Tom

  20. About the sheet music? I emailed some to you.

    Tom


Leave a Reply

Categories

