Posted by: thebylog | September 9, 2004

Had a good audit today. Actually, a most excellent audit, to which I felt as if I contributed. It’ll keep me busy for awhile heading into school. The idea is if you cool pears down fast once they are ripe, you’ll increase the quality and perhaps the yield of the finished product, which (woo-hoo) will be a great benefit to the company.

I’ll bet my loyal readers didn’t even notice that I have a new tagline. Any additional adjectives will be duly considered.

Now my Marshall contact person wants me to give him something of a proposal of research that I’d like to undertake, which is perfectly reasonable, except I don’t know if I know enough. And, I’m worried if I just pick something because it looks interesting, being that I don’t know enough about it technically, I won’t be prepared to come right into a research program and work. How’s this, to get you started: Markov chain Monte Carlo methods and applications. This seems to be a hot area in the Statistics field, and it interests me (not necessarily in this order) because a) it seems to have quite a few good applications; b) it involves calculus, albeit calculus that you can’t do analytically and can’t even really approximate numerically by traditional methods; and c) it involves algorithms, which means it involves logical programming.

Responses

  1. I noticed the new tagline last night, and wondered how long it had been there.

    Crystal

  2. whatever happened to ‘brown shoes’? (how’s the punctuation, tom?) 😉

  3. whatever happened to ‘brown shoes’? (how’s the punctuation, tom?) 😉

  4. I guess I just need to get used to it, but I think it could use some editing.

    Merry

  5. I guess I just need to get used to it, but I think it could use some editing.

    Merry

  6. Just for the record, I like the new tag line. It’s very informative! Lauren

  7. Just for the record, I like the new tag line. It’s very informative! Lauren


Leave a Reply

Categories

