Posted by: thebylog | September 25, 2004

You know, I was going to try to write something eloquent about the human spirit and disappointment, but forget it.

It comes down to this: I didn’t do as well as I would have liked on the GRE test I took today. The future will tell whether it really will matter with regards to my future. It hurts though; it’s really disappointing, because I thought I would do better.

Now, I talk strategy with a professor. I’ll decide whether to take it again or if my score is good enough to get me where I’d like to go.

:: maybe there’s something larger to read into this; maybe this is a sign. may I be sensitive to Him ::

After the test I went to the mall and just walked around for a little while. It was actually sort of fun. I didn’t have anything I needed to get home for, no school or work or schoolwork. I just walked and felt the pain of my test and talked to God about it. It was therapeutic. I got Rachel Lampa’s new CD (very disappointing), ate Cajun, and wondered why I couldn’t find any Medium shirts at Penny’s. I shopped Banana Republic and decided not to get a haircut, went to Wal-Mart and got a 128 mb memory stick.

That test’ll stick in my craw for awhile. Man.

Responses

  1. Ha! So much for not shopping for more than three times a year!

    I offer my sympathy about your terrible letdown. I’m sure there is a reason for it happening though. Whether it’s a good or bad reason though……… well, if I knew I’d tell you. Honest I would!
    Keep your chin up,
    Nony Mouse

  2. Ha! So much for not shopping for more than three times a year!

    I offer my sympathy about your terrible letdown. I’m sure there is a reason for it happening though. Whether it’s a good or bad reason though……… well, if I knew I’d tell you. Honest I would!
    Keep your chin up,
    Nony Mouse

  3. I just bought a pink toothbrush. I think we will be very happy together.

    If you like, I can send you one. Pink toothbrushes are very therapeutic, even more so than walking a mall! Really, you need one. You would not believe how different life would appear to you if you only had a pink toothbrush.
    Ag

  4. I just bought a pink toothbrush. I think we will be very happy together.

    If you like, I can send you one. Pink toothbrushes are very therapeutic, even more so than walking a mall! Really, you need one. You would not believe how different life would appear to you if you only had a pink toothbrush.
    Ag

  5. Bum deal! Watch or listen to something that makes you laugh until you hurt all over, ’til tears stream down your cheeks. Or read a sad story, and bawl your eyes out. Better yet go look at a beautiful picture, or clean out your closet, furiously. 🙂 Hey it works for me.
    Hope deferred maketh the heart sick.
    Sorry By.

  6. ‘All things work together for good….’ There was a purpose you know. (Speaking of which…finally got the clips from the new CD downloaded…they sound great!)

    Morgan

  7. ‘All things work together for good….’ There was a purpose you know. (Speaking of which…finally got the clips from the new CD downloaded…they sound great!)

    Morgan

  8. Speaking of CD’s (by the way Morgan, the CD is out now, you can skip the clips and buy one!!!) Ag, can I pre-order yours? I know it’s not out yet, but I want to be early in line.

    How much are they, where do I send the money?

    Tom

  9. Speaking of CD’s (by the way Morgan, the CD is out now, you can skip the clips and buy one!!!) Ag, can I pre-order yours? I know it’s not out yet, but I want to be early in line.

    How much are they, where do I send the money?

    Tom

  10. Could I have your e-mail address? I’ll contact you shortly.

    Ag

  11. Could I have your e-mail address? I’ll contact you shortly.

    Ag

  12. So tell us about this CD, Ag.

    Crystal

  13. So tell us about this CD, Ag.

    Crystal

  14. Oh yes, the upcoming CD — One memory of the studio is the Thursday I came in for a voice lesson only to find the voice teacher/recording engineer tied up with four lovely young ladies (one of them was Ag — but I didn’t know it was her at the time) trying to reconcile their expectations with what they heard. (Did I represent that correctly, Ag?) Needless to say, my voice lesson was put on the back burner for awhile, but I didn’t mind. (Is my halo sparkling, Ag?) 🙂

    Merry

  15. Oh yes, the upcoming CD — One memory of the studio is the Thursday I came in for a voice lesson only to find the voice teacher/recording engineer tied up with four lovely young ladies (one of them was Ag — but I didn’t know it was her at the time) trying to reconcile their expectations with what they heard. (Did I represent that correctly, Ag?) Needless to say, my voice lesson was put on the back burner for awhile, but I didn’t mind. (Is my halo sparkling, Ag?) 🙂

    Merry

  16. Fascinating story Merry!

    My email is on the AHQ website Ag. Thanks!

    Tom

  17. Fascinating story Merry!

    My email is on the AHQ website Ag. Thanks!

    Tom

  18. Oh yes Merry, your halo lights up a room as always. Actually, that song, oh that song, that song is going to be smashed into a state of nonexistence, and a fresh, flawless, inspiring rendition of it will take it’s place. “Hurray”, shout all the people. (Didn’t you ever read Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel?)

    Yes Crystal, the CD. I sing with my two sisters, and occasionally my three sisters. We are just in the process of finishing our first CD. Excitement? Some. Frustration? Some. Delight? Some. Horror? Some.

    Merry, it must have been a Shadrack, Meshack and Abednigo experience, because there were only three in the studio. Behold the fourth? Either you were hallucinating, or well. Anyhow, the fourth was indeed not there.

    Ag

  19. Oh yes Merry, your halo lights up a room as always. Actually, that song, oh that song, that song is going to be smashed into a state of nonexistence, and a fresh, flawless, inspiring rendition of it will take it’s place. “Hurray”, shout all the people. (Didn’t you ever read Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel?)

    Yes Crystal, the CD. I sing with my two sisters, and occasionally my three sisters. We are just in the process of finishing our first CD. Excitement? Some. Frustration? Some. Delight? Some. Horror? Some.

    Merry, it must have been a Shadrack, Meshack and Abednigo experience, because there were only three in the studio. Behold the fourth? Either you were hallucinating, or well. Anyhow, the fourth was indeed not there.

    Ag

  20. I’d like a copy too, Ag.

    Merry or Tom, if you don’t mind, could you give Ag my email address so she can contact me too? I’d rather not put it out for the whole world to see if. Thanks!

    David

  21. I’d like a copy too, Ag.

    Merry or Tom, if you don’t mind, could you give Ag my email address so she can contact me too? I’d rather not put it out for the whole world to see if. Thanks!

    David

  22. Oops! Sorry Ag. Thinking there was a fourth sister present was an assumption. Considering how mysteriously low-lighted Sam keeps the studio, I probably didn’t actually see four, but I wouldn’t have really known the difference since I didn’t take the time to carefully observe, not wanting to seem nosey or anything. 🙂

    And David, if Tom doesn’t beat me to it, I’ll get that e-address to Ag.

    Merry

  23. Oops! Sorry Ag. Thinking there was a fourth sister present was an assumption. Considering how mysteriously low-lighted Sam keeps the studio, I probably didn’t actually see four, but I wouldn’t have really known the difference since I didn’t take the time to carefully observe, not wanting to seem nosey or anything. 🙂

    And David, if Tom doesn’t beat me to it, I’ll get that e-address to Ag.

    Merry

  24. Merry, come in on Friday and be as nosy as you want. Really. I am personally inviting you. We’ll probably be there most of the day. I have the flu. Bad timing. I ache from head to toe, can still sing though. Just can’t talk and feel blah.

    If I were Sam, I would go NUTS working in such a dimly lit room all the time.

    Ag

    P.S. Cough up the address. Thanks

  25. PRAYER REQUEST

    Some of you may know Martin Schrock. He is the bus driver as well as a soloist for the Mountain Anthems Chorus. The other day he was experiencing extreme dizziness and shortness of breath. They took him to the hospital and discovered that he was “trying to have” a heart attack. Upon further investigation, they found that one of his arteries was blocked 50% and another 70-90%. He is scheduled for a double by-pass tomorrow, namely Saturday.

    I give this because I know that there are alot of you that know Marty, but if you don’t it doesn’t really matter. Please pray for him and his wife Joyce if you think about them, and the rest of us as well! This is very difficult!

    Love you all,

    Anita J. Beachy

    aka

    Ag

  26. PRAYER REQUEST

    Some of you may know Martin Schrock. He is the bus driver as well as a soloist for the Mountain Anthems Chorus. The other day he was experiencing extreme dizziness and shortness of breath. They took him to the hospital and discovered that he was “trying to have” a heart attack. Upon further investigation, they found that one of his arteries was blocked 50% and another 70-90%. He is scheduled for a double by-pass tomorrow, namely Saturday.

    I give this because I know that there are alot of you that know Marty, but if you don’t it doesn’t really matter. Please pray for him and his wife Joyce if you think about them, and the rest of us as well! This is very difficult!

    Love you all,

    Anita J. Beachy

    aka

    Ag

  27. Ag, I want your cd too, please!!! How exciting!!! Tom could give you my email. Or, if he doesn’t, you can post up here somewhere that you still need it. But I’d just as leave not post my email up here, either…
    Lauren

  28. Ag, I want your cd too, please!!! How exciting!!! Tom could give you my email. Or, if he doesn’t, you can post up here somewhere that you still need it. But I’d just as leave not post my email up here, either…
    Lauren

  29. Thanks for posting that Ag. I had heard that, and it came as quite a shock. Marty and I got to talk quite a bit last weekend and I really appreciate him.

    Tom

  30. Thanks for posting that Ag. I had heard that, and it came as quite a shock. Marty and I got to talk quite a bit last weekend and I really appreciate him.

    Tom

  31. Marty is just the dearest man! I haven’t heard much today, except that the surgery ended up being a triple-by pass instead of double.

    Anita

  32. Marty is just the dearest man! I haven’t heard much today, except that the surgery ended up being a triple-by pass instead of double.

    Anita

  33. Wow, sorry to hear that, thanks for the heads-up.

    David

  34. Wow, sorry to hear that, thanks for the heads-up.

    David

  35. Anita darling, glad you finally gave out your name. I’m proud of you. And thanks for keeping us updated on Marty. Quite shocking, but I think it will give him new strength and conviction from now on when he has the privilege to share, “God On the Mountain.” Know what I’m sayin’? God KNOWS what He’s doing.

    Merry

  36. Anita darling, glad you finally gave out your name. I’m proud of you. And thanks for keeping us updated on Marty. Quite shocking, but I think it will give him new strength and conviction from now on when he has the privilege to share, “God On the Mountain.” Know what I’m sayin’? God KNOWS what He’s doing.

    Merry


Leave a Reply

Categories

