Posted by: thebylog | October 13, 2004

Looking for Home

Last night a few other people, I went to my Grandma and Grandpa’s house to sing for them. My grandpa’s health is failing. He recently had surgery and is now undergoing radiation treatment to try to control cancer in his neck.

Grandpa’s always been a singer, but he lost his voice since before his surgery. As we sang, Grandpa sat in his chair and mouthed along with the words. Sometimes, like when we sang Palms of Victory, he cried. Grandma sat in her chair with a little smile on her face and when Grandpa would cry, she’d look over at him with a satisfied look of great love on her face. It was beautiful, really. Things aren’t looking very good, but there’s hope, and peace, and emotion.

Responses

  1. They say there is nothing more beautiful than young love. I do not agree. The most beautiful love is a wrinkled hand reaching out and taking the hand of the one that they have walked with for most of their living days. The most beautiful love is the faded eyes that light up as they meet the eyes that have held them captive for all these years. The most beautiful love is a love that has weathered the storms, faced the seasons of change, lived, laughed, loved. The most beautiful love is a love that when the book is about to close there is still that smile, there is still that touch, and there are still two hearts, joined forever as one.

    Ag

  2. They say there is nothing more beautiful than young love. I do not agree. The most beautiful love is a wrinkled hand reaching out and taking the hand of the one that they have walked with for most of their living days. The most beautiful love is the faded eyes that light up as they meet the eyes that have held them captive for all these years. The most beautiful love is a love that has weathered the storms, faced the seasons of change, lived, laughed, loved. The most beautiful love is a love that when the book is about to close there is still that smile, there is still that touch, and there are still two hearts, joined forever as one.

    Ag

  3. Yeah, Ag. I can see my grandparents now — Grandpa always bragging on Grandma, and Grandma always “shy” about it. Still, after 60ish years.

    Crystal

  4. Dearly beloved, wish me well. I am off to Poland in a matter of hours (!!!!) to spend 10 glorious days with Miss Crystal. And we’ll be checking the by-log — together.

    Merry

  5. Dearly beloved, wish me well. I am off to Poland in a matter of hours (!!!!) to spend 10 glorious days with Miss Crystal. And we’ll be checking the by-log — together.

    Merry

  6. Some of the people I find it easiest to get along with are over 60. Elderly people are so fun! I’m prayin’ for your g-pa and your family.

  7. Some of the people I find it easiest to get along with are over 60. Elderly people are so fun! I’m prayin’ for your g-pa and your family.

  8. Merry, you’re going to miss Melody’s wedding? Not that I’m gonna be there, but I thought you would.

    David

  9. Merry, you’re going to miss Melody’s wedding? Not that I’m gonna be there, but I thought you would.

    David

  10. Since Merry’s in the air right now, I’ll answer. When you’ve already got your plans made for going to Poland, and then a friend up and decides to get married, well, what should you do about it?

    Crystal

  11. Since Merry’s in the air right now, I’ll answer. When you’ve already got your plans made for going to Poland, and then a friend up and decides to get married, well, what should you do about it?

    Crystal

  12. Go to Poland.

    Tom

  13. Go to Poland.

    Tom

  14. True that. I guess I didn’t think about how long beforehand a trip like this would be necessary to plan for. (Wow, that was great grammar, now wasn’t it?)

    David

  15. True that. I guess I didn’t think about how long beforehand a trip like this would be necessary to plan for. (Wow, that was great grammar, now wasn’t it?)

    David


Leave a Reply

Categories

