Posted by: thebylog | November 9, 2004

Update on Grad School Search

I’ll be glad when the whole application process is done.

Right now, the five Statistics departments that I’m most likely to apply to are: Berkeley, Purdue, University of Chicago, Penn State, and Oregon State.

I’ve gone back and forth about what degree to pursue initially. Most recently I’m settling back into a Master’s Degree frame of mind. This is a limiting factor because quite a few programs don’t have a research-involved Master’s program, which is good if you want to jet yourself directly into industry, but not as cool if you’re like me who has an interest in industry and research.

I wish there was a little more diversity in the geography of my final five choices, which is why this is not a list set in stone. North Carolina is a state that I’d like to live in, and the Northeast is also intriguing. I wish there was a good fit for me in one of the New England states. Maybe I’ll make it a point to go there if I get my PhD.

Responses

  1. Well I’m going to the Bahamas once I get MY PhD.
    -shelley


Leave a Reply

Categories

