Posted by: thebylog | November 14, 2004

Evidence

The current question that’s troubling me: have I completely considered the fact that I could be wrong, that there is no God, and that Christianity is a farce?

I asked someone to give Christianity honest consideration and he turned it around on me. I told him, after thinking about it for a little, that I had considered that Christianity could be wrong.

But it bothered me, because while I have considered alternate paradigms to some degree, I think it’s pretty much impossible for me to completely objectively evaluate because of where I’ve come from. I’m sure some would say “Why would you even want to?”

Well, what more can you ask from a person than an honest pursuit of the truth? If I don’t think my religion is strong enough to stand up to honest scrutiny then it’s not worth believing anyway. So if we invite someone to entertain our perspective, it’s only fair that we’ve entertained their’s.

You know, I’m leaning toward “nurture” right now in the “nature vs. nurture” debate. This would explain why there are Baptists and Mennonites and Charismatics and Catholics. By and large, people grow up to be what they were taught. You grow up believing in evolution, you’ll find it difficult to let go, especially with all the evidence and peer pressure and all the smart people that believe like you do. You grow up believing in God, in creation, and you find it difficult to let go because of all the evidence and ramifications and peer pressure and smart people…

All this to say, there better be good evidence for what you believe!

Well, there is good evidence for what I believe.

Responses

  1. It sounds like the nurture you’re talking about is the psychological blocks that people have due to humans not wanting to admit they have been wrong in their thinking and behaving. I think you might be taking the nature vs. nurture argument a bit out of context. But good thoughts, anyway. I’ve just never heard it applied to denominational affiliations.

    Should the onus be on you to explore each religion to determine its validity, or should the onus be on the practitioners of that religion to convince you?

    Miss

  2. this is why its so important that you find out exactly what you believe and why.

  3. You must read C. S. Lewis’ “Case for Christianity.” It’s well worth reading and is very enlightening on the subject of the validity of Christianity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

