Posted by: thebylog | March 9, 2005

Thank You, Stats Book!

This morning for me was a little bit like a miner who was working in the tunnels and then lost his light. There were fuzzy ideas in my mind to somehow get out of the situation I was in, but I was bumping around and flailing pretty badly. I went so far as to go look for a Mathematical Encyclopedia from 1978 that ended up – instead of explaining Matrix Algebra in simple terms (I needed a review) – exploring the mathematical concept of a “Permanent”. Evidently it has Biological applications.

But I digress.

I finally remembered that in the back of one of my textbooks, there was a section on matrix algebra. I looked, and after a little more flailing, came up with what I assume is the correct solution.

I was happy.

Responses

  1. At 2:00 this morning, I got lost in the mines. I’m still lost in the mines. I gave up and went to bed at 2:30. But the list of projects and problems I’m pushing off till the week of spring break is already impossible. Does anyone else have the unfortunate mentality that “spring break” is a catch-all, cure-all? It never works.
    lori


Leave a Reply

Categories

