Posted by: thebylog | April 10, 2005

Decisions

Message to mom: No, I don’t have access to an ironing board, but still I chose a shirt that was not wrinkled. In fact, I’ll do the same tomorrow. They also have two washers and driers, and with only six or seven guys I won’t have any problem getting my laundry done. And yes, I’ll separate the whites and the colors.

The first big decision of the term is “to audition or not to audition” the choir. This doesn’t mean I’d be selecting people to sing, it just means I’d have them sing for me to get a sense of where they are musically.

Pros would be that it will give me a much better feel for the choir and how to arrange people. I’ll be able to test their ranges a little bit, not just take their word for what they can sing (not that they’d lie, but people can underestimate themselves) and figure out which girls want/could sing low tenor if they needed to.

Cons are that it would be awkward. I know what it’s like to be on the singing end of an audition and no matter how good your are or how comfortable the director tries to make you feel, it’s still at least a little (and maybe a lot) nerve wracking. Add in that I’m a male, fellow student auditioning many girls, it just makes for a less than comfy situation.

But because lack of comfort shouldn’t generally stop one from doing something that has redeeming qualities, it’s very likely that I will audition. In the long run, the benefits outweigh the negatives I think.

Responses

  1. Audition, no question. And milk it for all it’s worth!

  2. I think it’s kinda funny how SMBI is being run by all my friends and relations this term: By doing choir, Tone dean of men, and Gin a cook. It’s gotta turn out good! Keep us informed on what’s happening! What classes everybody’s taking…what you’re singing…what you’re eating…the whole nine yards.

    Crystal

    p.s. Tom, I’ll try to comment a little more. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

