Posted by: thebylog | May 30, 2005

A Pet Peeve

During orientation time at SMBI, the powers-that-be employed a couple of activities to help us loosen up. One involved us revealing a pet peeve.

I couldn’t think of any.

Well, since then I’ve periodically thought of different things that could qualify, and tonight I thought of another.

I don’t like it the person chosen to play shortstop in a softball game plays so far back that the chances of him/her fielding a grounder and making the play at first base is virtually nil, unless you have a slow runner.

If you do this, don’t feel bad. But, please, the next time you play, even when there’s a Mighty Casey up at bat, play your shortstop position close enough so that even if it’s a fast runner and an averagely-hit ground ball, you have a solid chance of throwing him/her out. Let the left-fielder play left field.

The only possible exception to this is if you don’t have a left-fielder, which in all fairness to the shortstop tonight in our game, we really didn’t have. But I’d still rather let two decent players patrol the outfield and the shortstop play shortstop.

Responses

  1. I had a rude awakening today. I went out to play softball and discovered I can no longer run, throw, catch, or hit. I’m not sure what happened, I’m surmising it has something to do with age and weight.

  2. Yeah, what is it? I used to be fairly good at softball and now that I’m married for four years, my body falls apart on me!! I feel like I just played three superbowls in a row!!

    But you know what the worst thing is? When I was around 14 years old, I looked up to the early 20’s guys like they had the world by the tail. Now I’m pushing 30 and asking “Wait, I missed something here!! I never felt that way!”

    Oh well, Life goes on!

  3. Oh but Byran, I thought your theory is that you CHOOSE to be annoyed……….

    Ag

  4. I totally identify with that “missed it” feeling, Japh.

    But you’re telling me after I get married I’m going to fall apart even more?! I quit. I’ll save a lot of pain for me and those watching.

  5. Ag, you’re right. I think I chose to be slightly annoyed in that instance.

  6. Isn’t that backward? You can’t help but be annoyed, you just choose what you do with it. Or am I wrong?

    Ag

  7. Most likely, AG, this discussion is one of semantics. Whether you choose to get annoyed and consequently act or you choose to act and consequently get annoyed (or not), it’s pretty much the same I guess.

  8. This is starting to sound like a chicken or the egg discussion!

    Tom, it happens! The falling apart thing, I mean. I just didn’t have as far to go as some of you!

    Now, wait till there are children in the mix. Then your social life and friends go out the window, and the highlight of your day is when you close your eyes and drift off to sleep.

    No, it doesn’t have to be that way, but marriage and children take energy, and I just can’t play volleyball until 11 or midnight anymore. Shoot, when was the last time I played volleyball? My married-without-children friends don’t even bother calling me when there is a married guys/single guys softball game. They already know what I’ll say.

    Oh, well, I’m finally having to grow up. It is still a good life, just different.

  9. I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
    Cheers, Sheila


Leave a Reply

Categories

