Posted by: thebylog | June 18, 2005

When I was a schoolchild, I was often able to race through my individualized school books and as a result rarely had homework. I had the obligatory chores and piano lessons to occupy me, but I had lots of time to pursue other interests such as reading Nancy Drew and playing tackle football in the four foot wide space between the bunk beds and the dresser with a balloon and my brother.

Suffice it to say, I wasn’t afforded such luxuries during my last term in college.

This is significant, because I see a constant struggle in my future in managing “time.” There are so many things I want to do, but not all that much time to do them.

The truth is, though, that God has given me enough time to accomplish what He has called me to do. If I don’t have enough time, it’s because there is extra stuff that needs to be weeded out.

Responses

  1. Ok. Now tell me why in the world did you read Nancy Drew instead of the Hardy Boys??!!

  2. *Laughing* That’s really very funny. Here I thought you were one of those studious types who probably only ever read Classics… But you read (past tense) Nancy Drew books! ITF, I’m a female, but I devoured the Hardy Boys books.I did love Nancy Drew too though. Sherlock Holmes was wonderful also. Byran, perhaps you are missing your calling. Maybe you should be a detective. 🙂

  3. I read the Bobbsey Twins too. And of course I read the Hardy Boys – in fact I read them before I read Nancy Drew.

    Anon, I couldn’t be a detective, no way. I don’t lie nearly well enough.

  4. man, i forgot about those football games. oh, and who could forget our baseball games we also played in our room using books for the bat. and then playing our fierce games of baskeball on justins 4 ft. hoop and our driveway games of one-one-baseball and baskeball which would always end with me crying…those are some great memories. see ya on saturday man.
    rande

  5. The tackle football in a 4 foot space makes me laugh to think of it!!! 🙂

  6. Ooops, that was me. I didn’t know pressing enter automatically posted ones’ comment!
    Lauren

  7. And the two-on-two football classics with our buds across the creek?

  8. Hey, another male that actually enjoyed Nancy Drew! The progression was Drew to Hardy for me. I’m not sure if the Nancy Drew books were better written or if my reading taste simply improved ever-so-slightly between the two, but I think I began losing interest in the Hardy Boys about the time I realized what the writers were probably thinking as they worked” “OK, the template says ‘Bad guys capture Hardy boys. Their doom approaches, but the brothers escape in the nick of time.’ Now, how should they be caught and freed?” 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

