Posted by: thebylog | September 26, 2005

Florida Wedding

I ate a ridiculous amount of junk food this weekend, the biggest part being cookies. Lots and lots of cookies, both homemade and store-bought.

I’m glad I went, though it would have been even more fun if Amy would have been along. I rode in the car a ton, partied quite a bit, slept a surprising amount, and even studied for a little while. And that doesn’t even mention the wedding itself. It was cool (literally – that church had some smokin’ a/c) and interesting with quite a bit of music (I sang in one of the duets), a great sermon, and a glowing bride and groom.

Man it’s hot in Florida.

I saw tons of people I knew, both at the wedding and at SMBI on the way back. I even saw my good buddy – and burgeoning public orator – Tom!

I can’t wait for Christmas, for several reasons. One of them being that it looks like AHQ may be together again, briefly as it may be.

Responses

  1. I hope the Quartet weekend went well. Wish I could have been there. Is AHQ planning another recording or tour, or is Christmas just an opportunity to hang out with each other?

  2. You didn’t ride down in the same car as Darrell, did you?

  3. You’re too kind By. I’m afraid my orating career is mostly likely one of those flash-in-the-pan things!

  4. Paul, no official recording or programs are in the works at this point, but if we’re lucky we’ll get a little of both done. But hey, even if we just hang out and sing for the fun of it for a night or two, I’ll be happy.

    Hans, I rode around Florida with Darrell. He’s a cool guy, I like him.

    Tom, I don’t know, you might find yourself on the Mennonite musical-instruction speaking circuit before too long!

  5. You’re definitely right about that church’s AC! Man!

  6. Is AHQ going to be singing together in Oregon??
    If so, I hope I hear about it!!!!

  7. Amy, I don’t know how you Florida folks do it. And you live in Northern Florida! Amazing. Shudder (and I can shudder here in the cool Pennsylvania fall) to think about pre-a/c days.

    If we can manage to all be in Oregon at the same time, I’m sure we’ll sing together. I don’t know if it will be for public consumption, though. But if it is, we’ll let people know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

