Posted by: thebylog | October 18, 2005

Faith

Something that was said in the Bible Study after the service on Sunday made me think of a song I sang with a choir back in the day. It was music set to a poem by Patrick Overton (Note: a previous version of this post attributed this to Donald Walsch, whoever that is – thanks Myron). It’s called “Faith” and it’s pretty powerful. It goes something like this:

When we come to the end
Of all the light we have
And take that first step into the darkness
One of two things will happen:
There will be something solid for us to stand upon
Or we will be taught how to fly.

I think there are times when taking the next step of faith is like being in a cave so dark and so dangerous that it feels like you could plunge off a precipice with the next step you take. But then, faith is believing that you won’t do that.

Responses

  1. Wow. Speaks precisely to what I’m struggling with right now. I’m going to steal it for my header.:) Thankyou for sharing that.

    -shelley

  2. I think it was Patrick somebody, By.

  3. Hey, Byran, it was Patrick Overton. Here is a link. http://www.patrickoverton.com/poster.html

    Myron

  4. Yep, that’s it. When me and By sang in the Chamber Choir at LBCC, our Director Hal set “Faith” to music. He was in contact with Patrick and had him come speak to us in class.

    Very interesting. I have an autographed poster (shown at Myron’s link) from that day.

    Several others had set it to music before, but Patrick said he liked Hal’s the best.

  5. Awesome!!!Those 6 lines say alot!!!

  6. I sang that too. Great song! Makes me miss chamber choir and Hal.

  7. Ah Chamber Choir. You know what, I may sing in a choir next semester. But it probably won’t be like it was back in the good old days with Hal and the LBCC Chamber Choir.

  8. High Byran – I still like Hal’s version the best as it focuses on the poem. I never did get a copy of that work on tape. . .any idea where to get that?

    Good to hear from you and thanks for your comments


Leave a Reply

Categories

