Posted by: thebylog | November 2, 2005

Sitting in the HUB

To keep on the technical kick, going a bit mathematical, I ask you to consider the sine wave. This is a rough analogy of my feelings toward my academic pursuit at different times during the journey. When I’m at the top – pi/2 – I’m feeling fine, ready to take on the PhD program. When I’m in the middle – pi – I’m a typical, busy, very challenged graduate student. When I’m at the bottom – (3*pi)/2 – I’m overwhelmed and seriously doubting whether I can do it and/or whether it’s worth it.

Last weekend and early this week I was somewhere in the closed interval [pi/2,pi], feeling pretty good. But a little earlier this evening, I had gone a bit further on the x-axis, discouraged with the load and daunted by the task ahead of me.

I know, however, that as Take VI says, I have somethin’ withina me that makes everything all right, no matter what.

Ah, but just give me a few minutes and my outlook will change. While I was at the HUB (building on campus which serves as the center of student life here) I was working on a simulation program. If you know what programming’s like, you realize that it can be both frustrating and exhilarating all within a short span of time. So, 30 minutes after I’m at 3*pi/2, I’ve started climbing back up, maybe to somewhere in the closed interval [7*pi/4,2*pi].

And so it goes. The one who perserveres gets the reward.

Responses

  1. That’s a neat analogy and it is so very true.

  2. Take 6, huh? Total great harmony.

  3. I’m new on your blog…if you didn’t notice. anyway…

    Wow, that sounds like my life…up and down, etc. Oh, I forgot to mention, most of my life is kind of like that, i.e. ETC.

    Nice blog. I’ll be back.

    Oh, and you probably know gregegg…?

  4. Oh that is called Male PMS!! har har…

  5. actually, you probably don’t, But i guess i’ll say hi. I do read your blog every week or so.


Leave a Reply

Categories

