Posted by: thebylog | December 12, 2005

Back-to-Back

I just finished two final exams and I was thinking about posting something about it but then I figured aww, probably not.

But then I went to md-hopeful and he was talking about exams, so it inspired me.

If my writing feels loosy-goosy, it’s because I’m feeling loosy-goosy. But back-to-back finals ‘ll do that to you.

But, I since coming to Penn State I have become more tolerant of less than stellar academic performances on my part. Not because I’m lowering my standards, but more because I’m allowing my standards to be conformed to reality.

For instance, back in the undergrad days, I freaked out after tests that didn’t feel good (see here or here for some classic by-log post-test anxiety). Now, I don’t freak out so much. It’s still disappointing, but hey, what happens happens.

The important thing is to work hard and do your best. Once you’ve done those two things, little things like grades are more or less inconsequential. Sure, they might be consequential with regards to things like “staying in the graduate program” or “procuring a PhD” but if you’ve worked hard and done your best and those things don’t happen, you still have nothing to be ashamed of. If it’s good enough to meet your goals, great. But if it’s not, take it as direction from God.

Responses

  1. This is what I keep trying to tell myself. Maybe someday I’ll get to the point that I’ll accept it as well. 😐

  2. I trust you did well. Praying that you did…and do…you inspire, you know…

  3. Your best is all that God expects. It makes life easier when you accept the same, doesn’t it? Even when your best today may be less than it was yesterday, that’s OK. Press on.

    Louise


Leave a Reply

Categories

