Posted by: thebylog | January 9, 2006

Waking Up

At some point, in the process of packing up to leave State College or packing up to return or sometime in between, I lost my alarm clock.

Now, my alarm clock is rather close to my heart, we’ve been together for a long time. It is small – designed to be used by the traveller – and battery-powered. I have long had a fear that at some critical juncture (say finals week), the battery would, without so much as a whimper or a pathethic beep, declare itself spent and I would be left sleeping instead of completing an exam critical to my academic survival.

But it never did. It was faithful to the end, if this is indeed the end.

I only discovered its disappearance late last night after I had returned from Amy’s, and I wasn’t about to get back into my car and drive over to Wal-Mart to buy another one. Problem was, I had an 8:00 a.m. class to T.A. this morning.

Let me digress a moment and talk about my father. He is much more morning-inclined than his wife and most of his children, so he often retires earlier in the evening than the rest of us. He doesn’t use an alarm clock that I know of, yet he
consistently gets up relatively early in the morning. What’s more, if he has to get up earlier than normal, he still does it without an alarm clock. His body just knows when to wake up. That’s always been amazing to me.

I have had an inkling of the same ability in myself. I’ve never trusted it enough to actually try it when I really had to get up the next morning, but then I’d never been alone in my own apartment without an alarm clock.

So I let my brain know that I needed to get up at 6 a.m. and went to sleep.

It was a bit of a fitful night – I woke up several times – but the important thing is that I woke up at 5:56.

I think it’s pretty weird, but sort of cool. But I’m still getting another travel alarm clock at Wal-Mart tonight.

Responses

  1. I always wished I could do that. Actually, I just wish I could wake up with an alarm clock.


Leave a Reply

Categories

