Posted by: thebylog | April 5, 2006

Paraphrasing a conversation between two grad students in stats, after talking about why the first student came here after holding a relatively lucrative job in industry:
Person 1: “Yeah, I’m here for the fun of it.”
Person 2 (laughing): “I’m here because I absolutely love what I do, there’s a big difference. I love what I do, but I wouldn’t call it fun, that’s just weird.”

There may be something to that. A lot of time, the life of a grad student isn’t very fun, but I like it.

Responses

  1. Isn’t that true for a lot of things? Parenting comes to mind. A good and wonderful thing, but not necessarily fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

