Posted by: thebylog | April 12, 2007

Remembering Names

Here’s an interesting thing about names and remembering them. If two people, one of them foreign-born and the other a native English speaker, see my name – Byran – spelled, the foreigner is more likely to spell my name right in subsequent written correspondence. I think this is because they are not handicapped by preconceived assumptions of how English names are supposed to be. In other words, they don’t know that Byran is not how you spell Byron.

Responses

  1. Is the foreign-born more likely to pronounce your name right than the native?

    Perhaps you don’t have as much of an issue with that as I do.

  2. By, I have the same problem….mine is spelled the way it’s said–LeZlie…but so many people, even those who use my nickname, Lez, will spell it LeSlie…..and I get so many different spellings…..and those who call me Leslie…..
    ~Lezlie

  3. Probably Myron. Spelling and pronunciation are both issues.


Leave a Reply

Categories

