Posted by: thebylog | June 6, 2007

Summer Update

This weekend I was in Oregon for my sister’s wedding and my Aunt Dorcas came up to me and asked me to fill her in on my life since I don’t blog anymore. I used to blog religiously, but now I’m in love and getting married and I don’t post. Is there a connection? I’ve also been very busy for at least a portion of this blog-light recent past. So who knows.

My RSS feed doesn’t work anymore. Tom would say, “If you went to WordPress, it would fix everything.” I think WordPress is to Tom like duct tape is to some guys.

This summer finds me on the happy end of two years in graduate school. Somehow, I’ve managed to clear all the hurdles in my path so far. I don’t know how, really, but I have, and I thank God for it.

I’m teaching this summer again, an introductory Statistics class at 8:00 a.m., which, if you’ve been to college, you realize it is pretty much the bane of the college student, being so early and all.

I’m also doing work for my Master’s Thesis, in the general area of Statistical Disclosure Limitation, although I’m just doing a tiny slice of something sort of related to it. The good thing is that I’m needing to learn more about Optimization, which is something I’m interested in academically. I hope that the bulk of it will be done by the end of my summer. The end of my summer is a week or two before August 10, which is when I’m getting married in case anyone forgot.

This summer I also hope to get a better idea of who I will be doing my Phd dissertation work with. I need to find a professor who does the type of work that I can really get behind and could see myself doing for the next few years and maybe for the rest of my life. The other thing is, they have to be amenable to me working with them, as well. I have a prospect that I have decently high hopes for. We’ll see how it works out.

Wedding prep, furnishing our little rented trailer, hopefully doing a little pleasure reading … these are the things that are or will busy me this summer.

It’s a wonderful life.

64 days.

Responses

  1. Just think how much more wonderful it would be with WordPress.


Leave a Reply

Categories

