Posted by: thebylog | April 7, 2008

Tired of Homework

The last possible thing I feel like doing right now is the homework sitting next to me on the desk. I’m really, really tired of homework. I’ve had graduate-level statistics homework for going on three academic years and I have had enough. I’m counting down the assignments and longing for the end of classes this semester which will signal a shift in my academic life: Little to no classwork and lots of research. Oh, the glory!

But alas, I have an assignment due Wednesday, and so somehow I must push through, face the estimating equations, and derive asymptotic distributions. Or at least try my best to derive the asymptotic distributions.

Which reminds me of something funny that happened in my nonlinear programming course. The professor was asking the class to identify a certain function he had drawn on the blackboard. Someone said, “It’s not a concave function!” and most everyone laughed because it was obvious that this was indeed not a concave function. After the period was over, one of my classmates smirked to his buddies, “You know you have a bunch of geeks when someone says “It’s not a concave function!” and everyone laughs.” One of his friends then tried to claim that he hadn’t laughed, but wasn’t very convincing.

Responses

  1. most of your post doesn’t make much sense to me, but i can heartily identify with the homework complaint. i’m actually on your site bc i’m trying to avoid my own. :\
    anyway, good luck with that, and may your graduation day come soon. 🙂

  2. Graduation is still far away, but that’s ok because most of my coursework and homework is in my rearview mirror.


Leave a Reply

Categories

