Posted by: thebylog | October 9, 2008

Pictures of Istanbul

First picture post of my life I think, but then I’ve never been to an exotic international city before.
Looking out over some of the city from outside our hotel.

Looking out over some of the city from outside our hotel.

Icon in the Ayasofya.  I referred to this in a recent post about worshipping at images.

Icon in the Ayasofya. I referred to this in a recent post about worshipping at images.

Amy and I in the Ayasofya.

Amy and I in the Ayasofya.

y]

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Kadesh Treaty, 1269 B.C. between Ramses II and a Hittite king; displayed in the Istanbul Archeological Museum.  Unbelievable.

The Kadesh Treaty, 1269 B.C. between Ramses II and a Hittite king; displayed in the Istanbul Archeological Museum. Unbelievable.

Overlooking the Bosphorus, into Asia

Overlooking the Bosphorus, into Asia

 

Spices at the Spice Bazaar

Spices at the Spice Bazaar

Proof that there are cats in Istanbul.

Proof that there are cats in Istanbul.

Proof that I attended a conference in Istanbul.

Proof that I attended a conference in Istanbul.

Responses

  1. I’m always enthralled by ancient artifacts like that treaty. Granted, I don’t know that I’ve ever seen something really “ancient”, considering that most of my experience has been with U.S. historical objects.

  2. Looks like a fun trip. Like your new site. So heres the plan. Barney is getting back tommorrow from Mexico City. You and amy need to fly out to Seattle this winter sometime to escape the Pennsylvania winter drudgery. Think about it:)

  3. […] Strangers You Can’t Understand When Amy and I were in Istanbul we had little trouble communicating, but there was that one time at the fancy restaurant on the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

