Posted by: thebylog | October 27, 2008

When will you be done with school?

Being in college, you get this question a lot.  Being in graduate school you get this question a lot, too, and it’s a harder question than when you’re in college.

To the rescue, PhD Comics: “I should be done in…”

The real answer to this question is “When I finish my thesis.”  But finishing a thesis is not like taking a class with a well-defined end.  It means writing a book-length document which details the research you’ve proposed, motivated, and executed over the course of several years.  Exactly when this will be finished is unknown!  Of course, I have an idea of when I would like this to happen, but invariably that time can be summed up in three words: “Two more years.”

No, not really.

For me, I anticipate graduating in the Summer of 2010, which is less than two years away.  Will it happen?  Only time will tell.

Responses

  1. Haha…great comic. 2010 is the year for me too.*

    *If all goes according to plan, that is…


Leave a Reply

Categories

