Posted by: thebylog | November 13, 2008

Moved by Obama’s Election

Barack Obama is president-elect, and Kathleen Parker wrote a column which resonated with me and prompted this post. 

I have to admit that the morning after the election, despite all those things about Mr. Obama that are potentially troubling to a Christian (the most aggregious, to me, being his views on abortion), I was sitting at the breakfast table listening to a clip of his acceptance speech and I was moved.  I was moved thinking of the historic milestone represented by his ascendance as a black man to the highest office in the land. 

I also admit that I have been swept up a little bit into the magic of his rhetoric, and I believe that there are reasons for a Christian to carefully watch (without worry or anxiety, though!) the direction he takes our country.  Perhaps the hope he inspired will ultimately prove to be a giant let-down.  Perhaps not.  

But beyond all that, it is clear that God has raised him up to lead our country, and I believe that this is a monumental event in our country’s history which is appropriate to acknowledge.

Leave a Reply

Categories

