Posted by: thebylog | November 25, 2008

Comps are Past/Passed

Of course, I passed my comprehensive exam.  It was more daunting in theory than in reality, and like so many other academic events in my life, I got through it.  That is not to say it was not without some uncomfortable moments.

I knew going in that my ideas would require some imagination and open minds on the part of my committee.  My nightmare scenario was that one or more would utterly fail to buy it and start attacking and shredding my thoughts to bits.   At one point, I felt we were heading that direction but the feeding frenzy was checked before it gained a whole lot of steam.  In fact, I ended up receiving some positive feedback which helps my confidence.

I learned, however, that research will not be easy for me.  It is hard to birth ideas, which when followed to their logical conclusion contribute to the statistical literature in a meaningful way.  Of course it’s hard, to think otherwise is naive to say the least.  But sometimes when you figure you’ve come up with a good idea, you don’t realize all the dead-end roads that you might have to take before that idea is fleshed out so that it can be of some use.  That old adage about success being 10% inspiration and 90% perspiration certainly is true here.

Responses

  1. Congratulations!

  2. nice work, man

  3. Yep, ditto that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

