Posted by: thebylog | January 3, 2009

Voiceless

On Christmas weekend my voice went the way of the Costa Rican armed forces, and for a day and a half I was reduced to strained whispering which forced people to pay special attention if they were to understand what I was trying to say.  I felt slightly patronized at times, though this was surely unintended.  It should be a lesson to me, because I have the same tendency when talking to someone whose first language is obviously not English. 

An interesting side-effect of being voiceless was that the overall decibel level around me seemed to sometimes significantly decrease.  Since I was whispering, it had the effect of making others talk more quietly.

Responses

  1. I managed to maintain my voice through Christmas, however it’s sneaking further and further down the scale. I haven’t noticed people being quiet though.

  2. Very nice, your reference to the less than stellar Costa Rican army, thats why I read the bylog. good to have you out here.

  3. Wow, a quiet gathering with Smuckers there! Amazing. 🙂 Good to see you again.

  4. No, this was back when I was in PA. That’s a good point, though, would the same thing have happened had I been in the Smucker house?


Leave a Reply

Categories

