Posted by: thebylog | April 7, 2009

Flossing Principles

I’m proud of Amy, for she has become a disciplined flosser since we’ve been married.  I have followed in her footsteps to some degree, but I have imposed certain principles which govern this part of my oral hygiene:

I floss every other day, with the following exceptions:

  1. I don’t floss on weekends
  2. I don’t floss if I have one or more canker sores
  3. I don’t floss if I’m sick
  4. I don’t floss on vacation

To me, this places reasonable limits upon the inconvenience of flossing, with the added bonus of allowing minor indulgence when I’m not feeling altogether well.

Responses

  1. I don’t have flossing rules, but on average I floss my teeth twice a week. When I have my check ups at the dentist he seems happy with my flossing habits (I have not been told to floss more frequently by a dentist in the last decade).

    I am currently using bacon flavored floss. . .

  2. I like you’re rules. I hate flossing and consequently I seldom do, but the dentist tells me I should. Maybe if I had rules like that I would be able to stick it.

  3. Yikes, that was full of typos. I like YOUR rules and I would be able to stick TO it.

  4. this cracks me up, mainly because i hate flossing…

  5. I would tend to adjust my state of sickness depending on how much time I happen to have when I should be flossing.

  6. I was trying to figure out the other day why flossing seems like such an inconvience. When it comes to brushing, I have no trouble doing that twice a day, but for some reason it’s almost an unbearable burden to take the extra two minutes to floss. Maybe it’s that flossing is just that much more invasive. Your rules are most excellent.

    My props to Amy as well for flossing. Dental hygene is muy importante during pregnancy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

